Skip to main content

Spears - Landscapes: Start Here: Library Resources

A guide to library resources for students in NEW 407

Start Here: Library Resources

Ask Me

This guide presents a brief introduction to library resources for students in Ellen Spears's "Landscapes of the South." For further help, please contact me:

Michael Pearce
 

Office: 110 Gorgas Library

Telephone: 205-348-6194

Email: pearc007@ua.edu 

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find what you need in the UA Libraries?

Borrow the material from another library by Interlibrary Loan:

  • Universal Borrowing - a quick loan service from our Alabama partners: Auburn, Auburn at Montomery, Jacksonville State, or UAB (books only)
  • Illiad - an expansive loan program with libraries throughout the country (books & articles)

Core Databases

SCOUT
Simultaneously searches the Libraries' catalog, 90+ library databases, and 60+ free Internet sources.

  • Use the "Source Type" limit on the left side of the page to limit to "Academic Journals" or "Magazines."
  • Use the "Catalog Only" limit to see items in the UA Libraries, or search the Libraries' Catalog directly.

Note: Databases with an asterisk (*) are NOT fully indexed in Scout.

ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES

  • * Science Direct
    An excellent resource for environmental studies
  • GreenFILE
    A research database focusing on the relationship between humans and the environment.
  • E & E News

Daily news updates on a variety of environmental and energy policy topics as well as links to online publications from E&E  Publishing. Also includes video clips and compiled reports on specific subjects.

            The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content  

HISTORY & CULTURE

ANTHROPOLOGY/SOCIOLOGY

POLICY

  • Public Affairs Index
    Resources on global contemporary public policy issues, including the environment and public health.

PRO & CON

  • * Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites on controversial issues.
     
  • * CQ Researcher
    Weekly in-depth reports on a variety of current events topic. Each report includes an abstract, overview, background summary, current situation, outlook, special focus, chronology, pro/con, and bibliography.

GENERAL

  • * JSTOR
    Scanned images of scholarly journals in a wide range of subjects, including environmental studies; includes extensive backfiles, but little recent (last 3-5 years) material.
     
  • * Project MUSE
    A multidisciplinary full-text database, with current issues and backfiles.
     

For additional resources, see the Subject Guide on the Libraries' Databases Page.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of American Studies - an online edition, frequently updated.

Columbia Guide to American Environmental History a guide by Carolyn Merchant, included in the database History Reference Center.

Encyclopedia of Alabama - free online resource

New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture- some volumes also available online.

Newspapers

For a complete list of the Libraries' online newspaper collections, use the Type menu on the Libraries' Databases page.

 

Citation Guides

Websites

  Google

Google Web Search 

Use the Google's Advanced Search option for more precise searching:

  • Use the domain search to limit to .edu  or .gov sites.
  • Limit your search to the page title to find sites primarily dedicated to your topic.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google Web Search that provides access to scholarly literature. It is especially useful for interdisciplinary subject searches.

For the most complete access to full-text articles, use the link to Google Scholar on the Libraries' home page; log in using your MyBama user name and password. Google Scholar will recognize you as a UA affiliate and will provide links on the results page to full-text material available in the Libraries' subscription databases.


Google Books

Google has partnered with libraries, publishers, and authors worldwide to create a digital library of books. As or 2014, more than 30 million titles have been scanned. Access to the full text of the books is provided to the extent allowed by copyright law.

Use Google Books to locate detailed information hidden in scholarly monographs:

  • Use the Advanced Search option to create specific searches.
  • Evaluate Google Book sources with the same care you would use to evaluate a print source.

  Government Documents

The University of Alabama is a regional depository for U.S. government documents. For information about this collection, please see the Libraries' Government Information page, or contact government documents librarian Kevin Walker.

Many government documents, from the U.S. and elsewhere, are available on the Internet.

  • Search by keyword, agency name, bill title or number, etc.
  • To limit a Google search to government documents, enter "site:.gov" as one of your search terms.

See also the following websites: