Skip to main content

Library Guide for EN 102 Instructors: Alternative Instruction Options

Information about planning library instruction for your class

Alternative Library Instruction

In addition to Information Literacy, The University of Alabama Libraries offers a variety of other types of instructional services, including UA Libraries Special Collections and instruction in using UA Libraries’ digital archive Acumen. Other resources including multimedia instruction at the Sandford Media Center, Microsoft Word document formatting with our Academic Technologies Librarian, and help in setting up Refworks and using accounts.  All of these services are available for EN102!

Special Collections

For special collections instruction, contact Kate Matheny .

Special Collections is the branch of the library which houses unique and rare items. At the University of Alabama, Special Collections are largely housed at the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library  on the second floor of Mary Harmon Bryant Hall. One major collection, the A.S. Williams III Americana Collection, is located on the third floor of the Gorgas Library.

Using Special Collections material is a great way to introduce historical or primary sources to your students. Primary sources allow students to learn how to evaluate sources and to create original analysis.

Sanford Media Center

For instruction and services from the SMC, contact Alex Hollinghead

RefWorks

Students in 100-level writing courses may benefit from instruction in RefWorks, an online reference/citation management tool you can use to collect, use, share, and cite your research.

RefWorks makes it easy to:

  • Access and manage research information online, from any browser
  • Import references from diverse information resources, including websites
  • Generate and format bibliographies in virtually any style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.) in seconds

RefWorks is available at no cost to University of Alabama students, faculty, staff, and alumni.

RefWorks instruction can be tailored to your learning outcomes and/or assignment instructions but might cover:

  • Creating a RefWorks account
  • Adding references manually, by exporting them from library databases, and with the Save to RefWorks browser bookmarklet
  • Using RefWorks folders and tags to organize references
  • Using RefWorks to add in-text citations and format a Works Cited page (MLA) or References page (APA)

Alabama Digital Humanities Center

Federal Government Documents

For instruction or research help with Federal Government Documents, contact Kevin Walker.


The University of Alabama Libraries receives United States federal government publications on an ongoing basis through its participation in the Federal Depository Library Program. The University has been a federal depository since 1860 and a Regional depository since 1965. Over the years, UA’s government documents collection has grown to over 1.5 million volumes. These volumes include publications produced by numerous federal agencies, covering a broad range of topics. What may be of particular interest to researchers are the congressional documents in this collection. These documents represent both primary and secondary source materials that relate to every issue ever discussed by the US Congress (e.g., establishing the US government after the Revolutionary War, political assassinations, climate change, communism, economics, civil rights, drugs, war, major events, UFOs, etc.).