Skip to main content

English & American Literature: Start Here

RefWorks

RefWorks

This web-based citation-management program is available to all UA students, faculty, staff, and alumni through a UA site license.

  • Save citations, organize and share your research, and create bibliographies.
     
  • For further information & tutorials, see the Libraries' Guide to Refworks.

Quick Links

DATABASES

Start your research with these core databases:


FILMS

Find films in the new UA Music Library Video Database, or search our film databases:

  • Video Database - search the Libraries' collections by title, genre, format, or language.
  • Criterion Collection - streamed video of classic films.
  • MEF Ditigal -  films from the Media Education Foundation, addressing race, gender, education, environment, health, and more.


LANGUAGE LEARNING

Language courses with audio components:

  • Mango Languages - a UA database offering 60+ foreign language courses, plus ESL courses
  • OpenCulture.com - links to free language lessons on the Internet

CITATION LINKS

Find online guides to MLA, Chicago, and other style manuals:


UA LINKS

Find help on campus:

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find what you need? Borrow it from another library via Interlibrary Loan:

  • Illiad - an expansive loan program with libraries throughout the country (books & articles)
     
  • Universal Borrowing - a quick loan service from our Alabama partners: Auburn, Auburn at Montomery, Jacksonville State, or UAB (books only)