Skip to main content

FI 414 Investments: Start Here

This LibGuide provides information sources to assist with FI 514.

Ask Me

Paul Brothers's picture
Paul Brothers
Contact:
108 Bruno Business Library

Box 870266

205-348-1097
Website

Guide Contents

Industry - Companies are part of, or comprise, something bigger, i.e. Industries.  Use this page for links to databases with a wealth of industry-related information.

Company - This page is composed of sources that provide profiles of companies.  Financial information for publicly traded companies is easier to find b/c of regulations.

Other important information -  Use this page to learn more about financial terms and tools.

Bloomberg, articles, etc.     - Use this page to find general information about our Bloomberg terminals.  One must physically be in the Bruno Library or Bashinsky Computer Lab to use this resource.

Learning Objectives

 

Learning Objectives
 
After this presentation you should 
 
  • know where to get a macro/micro view of the economy.
  • know how to define the following: Industry, Industry classification (name two systems), Company, 
  • know what UA Libraries' (UAL) database(s)* have industry/company information, be able to recognize (by name) some of the associated databases.
  • be able to use Industry/Company databases to locate company profiles, financials and their associated industries. 
  • know about some free, online sources that have excellent business information content.
  • be able to use some UAL databases to locate articles from 1000s of publications.
  • be able to explain what the Bloomberg Information Service is and what opportunities it can provide for students.
  • know what entities such as FINRA, AAII, ICI and SEC.gov have to offer for investors.
  • be better informed about UA Libraries, our subscription databases, some of our services and who to call upon for additional assistance.

General Information

All sources shown are UA subscription databases unless otherwise noted.  The online sources can be found on the Bruno Library Databases page.  To gain remote access to these sources be sure to use your myBama password and login.

bear vs bull

Welcome

Use this guide to find and explore business sources for financial investments.

US Economy

 

Check out these sites to get a gauge on the US Economy:

US Bureau of Economic Analysis

Common Acryonyms

COMMON ACRONYMS

AMEX or ASE   American Stock Exchange
CD Certificate of deposit
DJIA    Dow Jones Industrial Average
EBT Earnings before tax
EDGAR SEC's Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system
EPS Earnings per share
ETF  Exchange traded fund
IPO Initial public offering
IRA Individual Retirement Account
NASD National Association of Securities Dealers
NASDAQ    NASD Automated Quotation
NAV Net Asset Value
NYSE New York Stock Exchange
OTC    Over-the-counter
ROI Return on investment
SEC U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission