Skip to main content

Exporting Citations to RefWorks: Home

Search PubMed and PubMed Central and store citations in RefWorks

RefWorks

Have you tried RefWorks? RefWorks is a comprehensive research tool that allows researchers to manage and share information as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

To create an account you must go to refworks.ua.edu (free for UA students/faculty)

Use your mybama user name and password to access RefWorks off campus.

 

Having trouble with RefWorks?  Watch this tutorial

Nursing Tutorial

If you're new to library resources or just in need of a refresher, take a look at the Roll Tide Research. This tutorial is designed specifically to help students discover the resources available for them through University Libraries.  

Distance Learning

  

Additional guide to get information on library resources for Distance Learning students.

 

PubMed and PubMed Central

PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Importing Items from PubMed Database into RefWorks: For majority of the database, items may be easily exported to RefWorks. You will see a direct link on the record to export the citation into RefWorks. However, there are some instances in which the information may have to be imported. The PubMed database provides the perfect example. The steps and tips given in the next two tabs (PubMed & PubMed central) in this guide can help you Importing Items from PubMed Database into RefWorks:

Search Tips

Select Keywords relevant to your topic

Familiarize with MESH terms/MESH Database (MESH Database is the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed)

Use Limit options to your searches such as language, review articles, clinical trials, age group, gender, Peer reviewed/scholarly articles, retrospective search by years,

NCBI (Use My NCBI to save your searches and data, and to set NCBI Web site preferences)

Borrowing Journal Articles From Other Libraries

The University of Alabama Libraries provides local access to several thousand journals, millions of books, a huge collection of government documents and much more.   Still, on occasion, you may want to use something that we don't "own."  To borrow materials from other libraries in the U.S., use our Interlibrary Loan Service.  This service is free.  Start by using the special form on our Interlibrary Loan page.  

Submit ILL request.

Ask Me

Mangala Krishnamurthy's picture
Mangala Krishnamurthy
Contact:
Mangala Krishnamurthy

Reference Librarian/Associate Professor

Rodgers Science and Engineering Library

The University of Alabama

P.O.Box 870266

Tuscaloosa, AL 35487

Phone: 205-348-2109

Skype: mkrishna3
Website

Nursing LibGuide

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google Web Search that enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including papers, theses, books, and reports.
Google Scholar Search