Skip to main content

RefWorks: Export to RefWorks

An overview of ProQuest RefWorks

Databases that do not export to RefWorks

While many databases the University of Alabama Libraries subscribe to do export to RefWorks, some do not. The following list may not be complete, as it does not include all of the databases. 

  • NewsBank/ReadEx databases, including World Newspaper Archive
  • Oxford Journals
  • Oxford Reference
  • HathiTrust
  • McGraw Hill​ (AccessEngineering and AccessMedicine)
  • LION (Literature Online)
  • American Institute of Physics (SPIE)
  • MERCK (Royal Society of Chemistry)
  • IOP Science
  • Springer Journals
  • Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis)
 

Databases that Export to RefWorks

Some databases to export to RefWorks. Full-text directions of the export process below. Screenshots with full-text directions attached as pdfs and docxes below. Some short video guides to come. 

JSTOR

  1. Select resource
  2. “Cite this item”
  3. “Export Citation”
  4. “Export to RefWorks”

ProQuest Databases

(includes ABI/INFORM, ProQuest News and Newspapers, and various newspapers, including The New York Times and The Washington Post)

  1. Select resource
  2. “Save”
  3. “Refworks”
  4. "Output (Refworks)”

Project Muse

  1. Select the resource
  2. "Save Citation” (located on the right side of the screen)
  3. "Saved Citations”
  4. “Select all”
  5. “Option 1 : RefWorks”
  6. “Export to RefWorks”
  7. The citation will open in a new tab or new window

Scout/Ebsco Databases

 

There are two ways to export a resource from Scout or an Ebsco databases. 

The first way:

  1. Select resource
  2. Click “export”
  3. “Direct export to RefWorks"

The second way involves adding a resource to Ebsco/Scout folder prior to exporting it. 

  1. Add a resource to your Scout/Ebsco folder by clicking on the blue folder icon
  2. Go to Scout/Ebsco folder, located at the top of the screen
  3. Select the resources you would like to export
  4. Select "Export"
  5. In the "export" screen, select "Direct Export to RefWorks"
  6. Hit "Save" and the resources will export. 

SagePub

Includes Abstracts in Anthropology and Sage Journals

  1. Instead of clicking on the hyperlinked title, select “abstract," which is located BELOW the article
  2. Select “Cite”
  3. Select "RefWorks"
  4. Click to "Download citation"
  5. Instead of downloading the citation, this will bring you to a page in HTML/MARC21 coding.
  6. Click "Submit data to RefWorks"
 

Academic OneFile

Like with Scout/Ebsco, there are two ways to export a resource.
The first option: 

  1. Select resource
  2. Click on "Citation Tools"
  3. Use "Export to… " and chose "RefWorks"
  4. Hit "Export"
 

The second option involves saving resources to "My Folder"

  1. Add resources to "My Folder" by clicking on the blue "save" icon located under the resources
  2. Got to "My Folder," which is located next to search bar under “more”
  3. Click on "Citation Tools"
  4. Use "Export to…" and chose "RefWorks"

Web of Science

  1. Select the resource
  2. “Save to…” drop down (it is set to "Endnote Online"; be careful to click the down arrow on the right)
  3. Select "Save to... RefWorks"
  4. Click on "Send."
 

Cambridge University Press

Includes Cambridge Histories and Cambridge Core Collections 

  1. Select the resource
  2. Select "Export Citation"
  3. At the bottom of the popup, select "RefWorks" under "export."

ScienceDirect

  1. Select the resource
  2. Select "Export" at the top of the page
  3. Click "Save to RefWorks," located under "Direct Export.

Scopus

  1. Select the resource
  2. Select "Export," located above the article.
  3. Click on "RefWorks," located under "Select your method of export"
  4. Click on "Export."

Wiley Online Library

  1. Select the resource you want to export by clicking on the hyperlinked title.

  2. Click on “Tools,” located below the DIO and between “PDF” and “Share.”

  3. Within “Tools,” select “Export Citation.”

  4. Within “Citation,” select “RefWorks,” which is located under “Format.” Click on “Download.”

  5. The citation will appear to be in either MARC 21 coding or HTML. Simply click “Submit Data to RefWorks” to complete the Export.