The Art and Art History Collections are located on the 3rd floor of Gorgas. While this guide provides information related to searching our collections online, you should take some time to browse the shelves!
This database provides full-text coverage of periodicals and books covering art and architecture. In addition, it offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications. The database also provides selective coverage for an Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others.
Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as in English. In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
ARTstor is a digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Formerly Digital Dissertations) includes citations, some abstracts, and many full texts for dissertations and theses ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. The full text of most U. S. dissertations and master’s thesis from 1995 forward is provided including those written at The University of Alabama.
A free Internet resource from the University of California-Santa Barbara, VoS is an annotated guide to online resources in the humanities. The database covers both primary and secondary/theoretical resources and includes both traditional and contemporary fields (e.g., Cultural Studies, Sci-Tech and Culture, Cyberculture, and Technology of Writing).
This is a freely accessible site. Contents may change without warning.