A-Z Databases

Online access to academic books and journals published in various European countries and in varying languages, including Spanish, Catalan, Italian, and more.

Covering the story of art in the 20th and 21st centuries, these books expand the narrative of art history to include women, LGBTQ artists, artists of color, indigenous artists, and artists from Latin America, Africa, and Asia. Includes major works in photography, museum studies, and visual culture, as well as volumes of artists talking about their own work. 

Founded in 1981, the Daily Observer is Liberia's best-known, independent, national newspaper. The Daily Observer is notable for its coverage of the modern history of Liberia--including the Liberian Civil War and through its current phase of development"--home page (viewed January 10, 2024).

Collection provides insight into this region during this critical time, from the 1940s to the early 2000s. Includes three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda). More titles will be added.

El Caribe ("The Caribbean") is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo, chronicles national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.

"Founded in 1919, El Mundo was a respected, conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico and was widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990. The paper strived to live up to its slogan "Verdad y Justicia" (Truth and Justice)"--home page (viewed January 10, 2024).

Offers archives of a diverse range of predominantly non-Western newspaper titles, fully digitized and searchable for discoverability.

Collection shows how society has presented and treated individuals with disabilities historically using personal memoirs, records of treatments, methods of education, and forms of remediation. 

Collection chronicles Russian history, comprises out-of-copyright newspapers, and includes two e-book editions (full-text searchable) of pertinent reference books: an in-depth bibliographic record of all known newspapers published in Imperial Russia and a unique collection of contemporaneous reference works.

Comprising titles from Mexico's pre-independence, independence and revolutionary,periods (1807-1929), documentation of the events of this era and include politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.

Collection provides perspective on critical period of China’s history, representing more than twenty cities, from the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. Provides researchers a comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People's Republic.

These interdisciplinary titles are at the forefront of environmental studies, Latinx and Chicanx issues, decoloniality, environmental studies, and postcolonial theory. They also address music, art, film, television, and other aspects of popular culture.

LLMC is a cooperative library dedicated to preserving legal titles and government documents, along with making copies available digitally through its on-line service by replacing older, physically deteriorating books. It also completes retrospective collections.

Collection traces the history of Ukraine during this early period of independence, and the events leading up to the Orange Revolution (2004-2005). Includes local newspapers from each of Ukraine's 27 regions and provides insight into regional and ethnic interests, concerns, and conflicts that are still relevant today.

Collection includes publications from across this region, providing insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.

This collection pushes at the edges of how music is discussed. The ethnomusicology titles on this list find new links between music and culture, while the sound studies titles establish a new framework for theorizing the larger context of how we listen. Addressing musical cultures from around the world, these books consider music and sound broadly, taking into account social, cultural, physiological, and technological dimensions.

The New York Times is an American daily newspaper based in New York City. The New York Times covers domestic, national, and international news, and comprises opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews. As one of the longest-running newspapers in the United States, it serves as one of the country's newspapers of record.

An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and comtemporary dissertations and theses. Provides researchers with citations to graduate research. Regularly updated.

These newspapers provide important and critical insight into the events and personalities that defined post-Soviet Russian politics and history.

Examines the role of religion in cultures around the world. Drawing on a range of interdisciplinary methodologies, these titles examine conflicts within and among religions, how religion shapes everyday life, and religion's social, cultural, and political dynamics. The books foreground underrepresented voices, offering the perspectives of women, the LGBTQ community, indigenous communities, and people of color. Includes foundational texts on the study of African American religion and, more generally, African and African diaspora religious life.

Collection chronicles the conflicts as well as contemporary perspectives on independence movements, early statehood, and the extensive economic and social growth taking place in the region. Coverage of events of the 19th and 20th centuries.

Collection chronicles the changes and challenges throughout the region during early statehood. Incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.

The Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers (SEUN) collection traces the history of Ukraine during its tumultuous era and events leading up to WWII. SEUN includes newspapers from three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv and includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian.