Skip to main content

Acumen Digital Archives - Browse by Subject: Start Here

Browse an alphabetical list of subjects in Acumen, UA Libraries' digital archives.

Digital Services Websites

The Corolla

The yearbook for the University of Alabama, begun in 1893.

Working Lives Oral History Project

An audio collection of 73 of interviews recorded in the early 1980s, with elderly Alabamians (mostly African-American) sharing their thoughts and memories on a variety of subjects.

How do I browse subjects in the digital archives?

Browse the University of Alabama's digitized archives and special collections materials by subject. Subjects are alphabetized and arranged by letter in separate tabbed pages (above).

It's easy to explore and find what interests you: click on any subject and a new browser window will display a list of items in Acumen.     

How do I find items in the digital archives?

Acumen is UA Libraries' homegrown digital content repository. You can search there for digital archives directly.

Acumen is keyword anywhere search. Use the dropdown beside the search box to limit your search to a particular format, like photos or audio.

Scout is UA Libraries' discovery interface. A search of Scout automatically includes a search of the digital collections. 

To search just for digital archives material, go to the Advanced Search page (linked below the search box) and check the box labeled "Digital Collections Only."

Or if you're already on the search results page, look at the limiter "Content Provider" (panel at the bottom of the lefthand sidebar) and choose "University of Alabama Libraries Digital Collections."

Loading

Search

Can't find the subject you're looking for? Ask Google to find different words for what you are searching.

What's in the digital archives?

Most of the material in the UA Libraries Digital Collections comes from the W. S. Hoole Special Collections Library and the A. S. Williams III Americana Collection, both part of UA Libraries Division of Special Collections. As of the start of 2017, the repository contains over 137,000 items, including approximately

  • 101,000 manuscript items
  • 34,000 photographs
  • 2500 music scores (mid 19th-early 20th c.)
  • 2400 audio items
  • 1400 rare book items (mostly UA publications)
  • 2000 online finding aids for collections which have not been digitized

The digital repository also contains all the Dissertations & Theses written by UA students since 2008, about 2200 total.

Roland Harper Railroad Timetables

During his many travels throughout the United States and Canada, botanist Roland Harper collected railroad timetables as souvenirs of his trips. The railroad timetables date from 1887 to 1962 and many provide maps of the locations.