Skip to main content

Distance Learning: Media

This guide offers an introduction to library services; tools and tips for research, writing, and citation; and key resources for distance education students.

Find Sound & Video Recordings

  • Use Scout to locate sound recordings, video, and other materials. Here are three ways:
    • Enter a subject or topic in which you are interested and words like recording or film.
    • Search for a topic then narrow the results to a particular type of publication- like Audio or Video- by using the Source Types limiter on the left side of the page.
    • Include a publication type in your search. The Scout FAQ lists some options.
  • Use library databases. Many contain audio and video; you can use the Libraries' database page to find resources by subject or type, browse by alphabet, or view all databases.
  • Use freely available online resources, like the ones listed below. When searching online, be sure to carefully evaluate the results.

Find Images

  • Use Scout to locate images. Here are three ways:
    • Enter a subject or topic in which you are interested and words like photographimage, painting, or picture.
    • Search for a topic then use then select Related Images or Related Historical Images from the right side of the results page. You can also specify Image Quick View Types before or after conducting your search (select Search Options or Advanced Search to access this option).
    • Include a publication type in your search. The Scout FAQ lists some options.
  • Use library databases. To access collections of digital images- like ARTstor- go to the Libraries' databases page and select Digital Images from the Types menu. Other databases my contain images, too; from that same databases page, you can find resources by subject or type, browse by alphabet, or view all databases.
  • Use freely available online resources, like the ones listed below. When searching online, be sure to carefully evaluate the results.

TV and Radio