Skip to main content

English & American Literature: Articles

Book Reviews

Contemporary:

  • JSTOR (dates vary, mostly 20th century; limit to "Review" on the Advanced Search page)

Historical - British

Historical - American

Criticism - General

Use Scout to simultaneously search multiple database and catalogs for articles, books, and more. For more focused searching, try these essential databases:

MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB)

JSTOR 

  • A full-text collection of scholarly journals with backfiles in a range of subject areas. Searchable full text provides a level of access not available through MLAIB.

Project Muse

  • A collection of high quality journals from major university presses.

Literature Online (LION)

  • Criticism from a variety of sources, including the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; also includes reference works, biographies, and a library of full-text literary works.

Artemis Literary Sources

  • Biographies, bibliographies, and criticism, plus work overviews and plot summaries.

Iter

  • An index to scholarly literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Criticism - Special Subjects

Shakespeare Collection

  • An interdisciplinary, multimedia collection of resources supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies. Includes the Arden editions of Shakespeare's works.

World Shakespeare Bibliography

  • An annotated bibliography of books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, performance reviews, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.

Bibliography of English Women Writers, 1500-1640 

  • An index to texts by and about 700+ women writers from the early modern period.

Milton: A Bibliography

  • John T. Shawcross's bibliography of "manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799."

Historical Context

Historical Abstracts

  • World history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

America: History & Life

  • Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.