Skip to main content

English & American Literature: Books

Dissertations

UA dissertations are listed in the Libraries' Catalog and in Scout. See also these databases:

  • Dissertations & Theses
    A database of U.S. and some foreign these from 1861 to the present; includes the full text of most these written after 1996 as well as many earlier ones.

     
  • Dissertations & Theses at The University of Alabama
    An index, with some full text, of dissertations and theses written at UA.

     
  • CRL Foreign Dissertations
    A collection of foreign dissertations housed at the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago. Request these materials via ILL.

     
  • EThOS
    A collection of 350,000+ dissertations from universities in the UK, including some full text.

Library Catalogs

Books at UA

SCOUT simultaneously searches the Libraries' catalog, 90+ databases, and some free Internet resources (includes scholarly articles).

  • Especially useful for interdisciplinary topics.
  • Use the limits on the left side of the results page to refine your search.

The Libraries' CATALOG is a traditional catalog of library holdings: print and electronic books, films, sound recordings, musical scores, government documents, and more (no articles).

  • Most useful for simple author/title searches or highly focused searches.
  • Use the Advanced Search page for complex searching, combining keywords or subject headings

Books at Other Libraries

WorldCat is a comprehensive catalog of books and other library materials in libraries worldwide. 

  • Use WorldCat to find material that UA does not own.
  • Use the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service to borrow WorldCat material from other libraries.

Call #s for Literature

Most literature books are housed on the third floor of Gorgas Library.

Browse the following call number ranges to find books relating to English and American literature:

PN - Literature, General (includes books on theory, history, rhetoric, and genre)

PR - British Literature

PS - American Literature

E-Books

E-Books at UA

Find e-books in the UA collections through Scout, the Libraries' Catalog, or the E-Journals/E-Books page of the Libraries' website.


Primary Source Databases at UA

For full-text databases of historical & contemporary texts, see the Primary Sources page of this guide.


E-Books on the Web

Find e-books on the Web through the digital library projects below. These books are available for reading to the extent allowed by copyright law.

Google Books 
A digital library of more than 30 million books.

  • Use Google Books to locate detailed information within books.
  • Use the Advanced Search option for more precise searching, or to limit to titles available for reading.
  • Find links to Google Books from records in the Libraries' Catalog.

HathiTrust 
"...a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."

  • For full access, log in with your MyBama information.

Internet Archive
Books and more: "a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form."