Skip to main content

Social Work: Locating journal articles

This subject is guide is intended to assist students, faculty, staff and alumni of the School of Social Work in locating specific resources in the field of social work.

What if our library doesn't have a journal I need?

The University Libraries provide a service called 'interlibrary loan'. When we don't have an electronic or print copy of a journal, you can request a copy of an article in that journal through the Interlibrary Loan office. Follow the link to set up your account which you will only need to do once.

I have a couple of quick tips that can assist you in requesting journal articles. Stop by or set up an appointment and I'll be glad to show you some short cuts.

Electronic copies of the articles will be sent to your desk top via e-mail. There is no charge and you may keep the document.

 

Technical Problems Linking to Databases

 Please access the databases by going directly to the University Libraries homepage at   www.lib.ua.edu and click on databases in the grey column on the left side of the screen. Using the Subject Guide, scroll down and highlight Social Work. An alphabetical list of databases that are appropriate for social work topics will be displayed. Brief summaries of the database content can assist you in selecting a database. If you are logging in from a remote location, be prepared to enter your MyBama login and password information.

Please contact Lynn at  ltobola@bama.ua.edu  if you have any questions.

UA Libraries Databases

The University of Alabama has over 300 databases that index journal articles for all disciplines as well as specilized databases that will search census data, legal information, and statistics.

There are four databases that, depending on your topic, will be good beginning resources to locate information. These are

Academic Search Premiere is a well rounded resource to begin with as it is multi-disciplinary and includes journals that are specific to social work.

Social Services Abstracts is an index to social work, public welfare and human services journals.

PsycINFO is the largest databse that indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations in the field of psychology. It is a good resource for a variety of topics.

Web of Science Is the "world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities...and includes cited reference searching."

There are a variety of other databases to explore depending on your topic. Contact me at ltobola@bama.ua.edu with your topic and I can direct you to additional resources.

Ask Me

Lynn Tobola's picture
Lynn Tobola
Contact:
PHONE: 205-348-6611
The University of Alabama
School of Social Work
200 Little Hall
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0314
ltobola@bama.ua.edu