Skip to main content

Social Work: Older Adults

This subject is guide is intended to assist students, faculty, staff and alumni of the School of Social Work in locating specific resources in the field of social work.

Federal Adminstration on Aging

The U.S. Administration on Aging is an excellent resource for statistics, policy updates, and general information on activities related to the American aging population.

Encyclopedia of Gerontology

The online version of the Encyclopedia of Gerontology

American Geriatrics Society

The American Geriatrics Society is an excellent resource for material related to aging and health care.

AARP

The American Association of Retired Persons website provides a wide variety of resources to older adults who are over the age of 50. It is worth it to look around a bit and become familiar with the site. Lots of goodies hidden behind some of the links.

The Merck Manual of Geriatrics

The Merck Manual Of Geriatrics provides information on working with older populations, disease prevention, Federal health care funding, issues related to provision of care, quality of life and social issues in older adults.

Older Americans 2010: Key Indicators of Well-Being

Click here to get the full text of the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics

publication Older Americans 2010: Key Indicators of Well-Being

Journal of Gerontological Social Work

This is a link to the electronic version of the Journal of Gerontological Social Work by year, issue and then table of contents. It is appropriate to use this as a means to find articles relevant to your topic. However, using a database, such as Abstracts in Social Gerontology [on the previous page] and searching by subject and/or keyword will results in a more efficient set of results.

Abstracts in Social Gerontology

Abstracts in Social Gerontology is a database that provides subject and keyword access to articles in journals related to social and physical aspects of older adults.

Aging And Poverty Report

Special supplement to the journal Families in Society on the aging population and poverty.

Click here for the fulltext:   http://www.familiesinsociety.org/new/SpecialIssue/AgingInPoverty/AgingInPoverty.pdf

Evidence Database on Aging Care

The Evidence Database on Aging Care site was "created... to help scholars, policy analysts, and advocates stay on top of the latest research and innovations in aging care, including health care and social services".

The CDC's Health Aging for Older Adults website

The CDC website on Healthy Aging for older Adults

Ask Me

Lynn Tobola's picture
Lynn Tobola
Contact:
PHONE: 205-348-6611
The University of Alabama
School of Social Work
200 Little Hall
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0314
ltobola@bama.ua.edu
Subjects:Social Work