Skip to main content

History: Careers & Grad Schools

Welcome to the library guide for history research at the University of Alabama.

UA Career Center

The UA Career Center can help students and alumni develop resumes and CVs, prepare for interviews, and search for job postings.

Professional Associations

Professional associations can help you share ideas with historians working in your subject area, give you venues to present or publish a paper, supply history-related news and job postings, as well as help you network with students and scholars from around the world.  You can often use a professional association to help you locate historians who can give you advice about your research topic.

The American Historical Association serves historians in all subfields of history, and its site offers links to archival news, a directory of history journals, annual meeting details, job postings, graduate programs in history, and other professional information.  AHA provides a directory of links to other historical associations that focus on specific eras or themes. 

Southern History

The professional group that supports Southern history is the Southern Historical Association.  There are also a number of associations that focus on a particular eras or regions of the South listed on the SHA site.  Each Southern state has a historical association.  Locally, the Alabama Historical Association publishes the Alabama Review, organizes historical meetings, and sponsors historical markers.  The AHA also offers a directory of local historical societies.

The American Association for State and Local History supports Southern historical work as well.

American History

The Organization of American Historians "promotes excellence in the scholarship, teaching, and presentation of American history, and encourages wide discussion of historical questions and equitable treatment of all practitioners of history".

The American Studies Association - is "the nation’s oldest and largest association devoted to the interdisciplinary study of American culture and history."

The American Historical Association offers links to archival news, a directory of history journals, annual meeting news, job postings, graduate programs in history, and more professional issues.  AHA provides a directory of links to other historical associations that focus on specific eras or themes in American history.

You can find links to many state historical associations on this directory.

 

European History

There are a variety of associations for Europeanists:

European History Section of the Southern Historical Association

The Historical Association

The Royal Historical Society

British Scholar Society

The Victorian Society in America

The Society for French Historical Studies

German History Society

American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies

American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies

The Renaissance Society of America

Medieval Academy of America

Association of Ancient Historians

 

Others

Professional groups dedicated to the study of Latin American history include the Conference on Latin American History.  Professional groups for Asian Studies include the Conference on Asian History and Chinese Historians in the United States.  Military historians can participate in The Society for Military History, Center of Military History (Army), Strategic Studies Insititute (U.S. Army War College), Naval History and Heritage, and other groups from the Army's list of military sites.  The Association of Ancient Historians offers a forum for classicists.