Skip to main content

History: General Collections

Welcome to the library guide for history research at the University of Alabama.

Best Bets for Latin America

Digital Library of the Caribbean--a variety of primary sources on an important part of Latin America.

Early Americas Digital Archive--"a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820."

Early European Books--books "published in Europe or in European languages, c. 1455-1700."  Includes "accounts of travel, exploration and warfare" in Latin America."

Eighteenth Century Collections Online--a digitized library of approximately 138,000 primary sources, containing English- and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain in the eighteenth century.  You can find Latin American sources of that period translated into English.  You can also find accounts and observations of foreigners who traveled in Latin America at the time.

El Informador--Mexican newspaper covering 1917-2008.

Eyewitness to History--variety of first person accounts of significant historical events.

Google Books--find thousands of online books and articles.  Please be sure to set the "Publication Date" appropriately.  Also, you may wish to set "Full view only" to limit your search to only free, full-text works.

Hathi Public Trust--a group of over 50 libraries offer this ebook collection.

History Vault--includes U.S. government documents related to Cold War policies in Latin America.

LANIC Virtual Libraries in Latin America--discover online primary sources for various Latin American countries.

Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922--archives of newspapers of the 1800s and 1900s from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Mexico and several other countries.

19th Century U.K. Periodicals: Series 2, Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial--offers newspapers from around the British Empire, incluidng Australia, New Zealand, India, Ceylon, and South Africa.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926--contains works about Latin America published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.

Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive--"a historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual and global way. The varied sources shed light on the: Abolitionist movement and conflicts within it; Anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period; Debates on the subject of colonization; And more. The resource strongly supports research with a U.S. focus, but also includes resources from Africa, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean – allowing for comparative research."

Best Bets for American History

America's Historical Imprints--books, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera includes four cross-searchable components: Early American Imprints, Series I (Evans, 1639-1800, + supplements); Early American Imprints, Series II (Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819, + supplements); American Pamphlets, Series 1, 1820-1922 (from the New-York Historical Society); and American Broadsides & Ephemera.

American Memory Project--gateway to rich primary source materials relating to all aspects of the history and culture of the United States. Offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.

Documenting the American South--a collection of primary sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. The Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors DAS, and the texts come primarily from its Southern holdings. 

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926--contains works about the United States and the rest of the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

Evans Digital Edition--(Early American Imprints, Series I)--excellent collection of primary sources for American history topics from 1639-1800.   Excellent for studying the American colonial period and Revolution.

Making of America: Cornell University --"a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."

Archives Unbound--"City and Business Directories: Alabama, 1837-1929; Confederate Papers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama; James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi; City and Business Directories: Mississippi, 1860-1929 Digital Archive; City and Business Directories: North Carolina, 1886-1929 Digital Archive; City and Business Directories: Tennessee, 1849-1929 Digital Archive; City and Business Directories: Virginia, 1801-1929 Digital Archive."

Fold3--millions of personal records, genealogical materials, photographs, historic documents. Includes collections of census materials; military records from the American Revolution, Civil War, World War II and Vietnam; African American and Native American archives; naturalization records; and more.

Early Encounters in North America--documents the relationships among Native American, African and European peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. Using diaires, memoirs, letters, travel accounts and other primary sources, this collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from many people, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

American Indian Histories and Cultures---everyone should try this rich resource.  It presents material from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection, one of the strongest available archival collections on American Indian history. Early contacts between Europeans and American Indians and the subsequent political, social and cultural effects of those encounters on American Indian life is told against the backdrop of the expanding western frontier right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.

Best Bets for Asian History

Scripta Sinica--"A Chinese full text database that encompasses historical materials, including more than 400 titles and 350,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese."

Tibetan and Himalayan Library--recordings, oral traditions, images, maps, and more.

Internet East Asian History Sourcebook--the best of Asian history of web.

Digital Himalaya--collection of rare books, films, journals, maps, and other sources about Tibet, Nepal, Bhutan, and other areas of the Himalayas.  Ethnographic and anthropological materials.

Best Bets for European History

Internet Medieval History Sourcebook--the starting point for medieval European research.

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts--brings together a large collection of Christian texts from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. In addition to theological writings, the collection includes confessional documents, biblical commentaries, polemical treatises, catechisms, and liturgical works.16th-17th Century

Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation--reproduced here are hundreds of printed documents pertaining to the Counter-Reformation: papal documents, synodal decrees, catechisms, confessors’ manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises, sacred drama, liturgical works, inquisitorial manuals, preaching guides, accounts of saints’ lives, and devotional works.   16th-17th Century.

Early European Books--books "published in Europe or in European languages, c. 1455-1700."  Includes "accounts of travel, exploration and warfare" in Latin America."

Eighteenth Century Collections Online--a digitized library of approximately 138,000 primary sources, containing English- and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain in the eighteenth century.  You can find Latin American sources of that period translated into English.  You can also find accounts and observations of foreigners who traveled in Latin America at the time.

British History Online – Premium Collection--"a digital library containing core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Included are: the Parliament Rolls of Medieval England (Edward I to Henry VII), all the volumes of the Calendar of State Papers, Domestic 1537-1714, the Calendars of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland, plus the Calendar of Close Rolls. Note that State Papers Online covers only the Tudor Period: 1509-1603."

Europeana--"Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections."

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)--"primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Drawn from libraries worldwide and representing multiple languages, the collection includes books, newspapers, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, and more. At present, the database comprises four discrete subject collections: 1) British Politics and Society; 2) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; 3) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and 4) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture."

Wellesley Index to Periodical Literature, 1824-1900--"45 major Victorian periodicals of Great Britain."

Early English Books Online (EBBO)--"contains copies of virtually every book printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700."