Skip to main content

History: Newspapers and Magazines

Welcome to the library guide for history research at the University of Alabama.

Alabama Newspapers

These search engines can find articles from a variety of Alabama news sources.

America's News

NewspaperARCHIVE.com

Alabama Mosaic

Google News Archive

 

Searching for Newspapers in Other Libraries

Use WorldCat to search for newspapers from libraries around the world. You can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request items not available in the UA Libraries.

For example, you can type Venezuela* and newspaper* in the "Keyword" search box in WorldCat and hit "Search" to find the newspapers of that country.  You can then request a paper, specifying the relevant years, through the ILL request form.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Find Newspapers and Magazines

Many past newspaper and magazine articles are now available online in databases.  Choose the appropriate century in the list below to start searching for articles on your topic!

1900s-present

1800s

1700s

1600s

Please note before searching: Most of these databases have limiters on their search screens that let you limit your search to a date range.  For example, if you are searching for articles published on or a week after the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, you'll want to limit your search to December 7-14, 1941--otherwise you will find articles published decades later that might not count as primary sources!

For even more newspapers: I included some of the largest newspaper archives on this page, but there are many smaller ones on the internet.  To search for even more online newspapers for a specific state or country, please see the growing lists at International Coalition on Newspapers, International News Historical Archives, and List of Online Newspaper ArchivesThe International Coalition on Newspapers's main page can help you find even more newspapers available in print or microfilm.

 

1900s--Present  

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 --includes the full text of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers, published in 36 states.

America's News--"local, regional, and national sources. It has diverse source types including printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Includes Birmingham News, Mobile Press Register, Montgomery Examiner, Anniston Starr and Huntsville Times."  Mainly 1980s--present.

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900--over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Offers feature articles as well as classifieds and advertisements.

Austrian Newspapers Online (ANNO)--large collection of Austrian newspapers.

Berlin State Library--excellent collection of German newspapers of the 1800s and 1900s.

Bibliotheque et Archives Nationales Du Quebec--a number of French-Canadian newspapers of the 1800s and 1900s.

Black Studies Center-offers articles from leading African-American newspapers from the 1900s.

British Periodicals--British magazines published from the 1680s to the 1930s. 

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers--a range of newspapers published in the late 1800s and early 1900s.

Consortium of Pentecostal Archives--excellent collection of Pentecostal magazines of the 1900s.

El Informador--Mexican newspaper covering 1917-2008.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive--many important magazines documenting the early days of the film, television and popular music industries. Notably, includes Billboard (1894-2000), Variety (1905-2000), and The Stage (1880-2000).

Film and Television Index Full Text--offers reviews and journal articles back to 1914.

Frank Leslie's Weekly (1852-1922)--a popular magazine of the late 1800s and early 1900s.

Gallica--a digital library created by the National Library of France, includes French newspapers of the 1800s and 1900s.

Georgia Historic Newspapers--newspapers from 1750--1925.

Google Books--finds not only books but also thousands of magazines articles! You may wish to set "Full view only" to limit your search to only free, full-text works. 

Google News Archive--This special tool from Google allows you to search a variety of news sources from past years.  Please limit to the appropriate date.  Also, please note that you can limit to free sources using the "Price" feature.

 Hispanic American Historical Newspapers, 1808-1980--Including many newspapers published bilingually in Spanish and English, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures. Coverage begins in 1808 when the first Spanish-language newspaper in the United States was printed in New Orleans.

Historic Australian Newspapers, 1803-1954--great collection of key papers, searchable by keyword or state.

Historical Jewish Press--Jewish papers from many countries and time periods.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003--Includes over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces. Full color images.

Irish Newspaper Archives--good collection of historical Irish papers.

Irish Periodicals--Villanova University Digital Library--a variety of Irish newspapers and magazines.

 JSTOR--scholarly journals from many fields, ranging from the 1600s to the 2000s.

Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922 --huge archives of newspapers of the 1800s and 1900s from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Mexico and several other countries.

LexisNexis Academic--an exceptional resource for news topics from the past twenty years. Includes American and foreign newspapers, news wires, TV and radio news transcripts, college newspapers, and polls. Users must first choose the type of information they want to search from the menus before searching. 

London Gazette--a key British newspaper covering most of the 1900s.

MasterFILE Premier -a collection of popular magazines of the twentieth century.

Nation Archive--one of America's most popular magazines, covering politics, culture, and the fine arts, 1865-present.

National Geographic Virtual Library--complete, digitized archive of National Geographic Magazine, 1888-present.

Newspaper Source--key newspapers from 1995-present.

NewspaperARCHIVE.com--an extensive database of local papers from cities as well as small towns around the United States.  Contains several Alabama newspapers.

PapersPast--collection of New Zealand local papers.

Peel's Prarie Provinces--excellent collection of newspapers from the western Canadian provinces.

Periodicals Index Online --huge backfiles of scholarly journals, you'll mainly find citations and a few full-texts.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers—includes several major papers of the 20th century, including the New York Times (1851-2001) and the Washington Post (1889—1987).  Offers feature articles as well as classifieds and advertisements.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)--classic index to older issues of popular magazines like Time, Newsweek, Sports Illustrated.  Most of the articles are not full-text; you'll have to see fi the Library owns them in print.  Covers 1890--1982.

Shen Bao Digital Archive--"the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic of China, 1872-1949.

Sports Illustrated Vault--seach the archives of one of America's most popular sports magazines.

Times Digital Archive--the London Times newspaper from 1785 to 1985.

Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War --rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War.

Vogue Archive--great resource for fashion and popular culture, 1892--present

1800s


Accessible Archives--great collection of Civil War, African-American, and other newspapers.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 --includes the full text of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers, published in 36 states.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century --includes Freedom’s Journal, 1827-1829 (New York, NY); Provincial Freeman, 1854-1857 (Chatham, Canada West); The Colored American Weekly Advocate, 1837-1841 (New York, NY); The North Star, 1847-1851 (Rochester, NY); Frederick Douglass Paper, 1851-1859 (Rochester, NY); The Christian Recorder, 1861-1902; The National Era, 1847-1860 (Washington, D.C.); South Carolina Gazette (1732-1751); Virginia Gazette (1736-1780)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection--covers 1691-1877, feature articles, advertisements, illustrations, obituaries, cover art, and more.

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900--over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Offers feature articles as well as classifieds and advertisements.

Australian Periodical Publication Project, 1840-1845--"provides web access to digital copies of Australian serials first published between 1840 and 1845."

Austrian Newspapers Online (ANNO)--large collection of Austrian newspapers.

Berlin State Library--excellent collection of German newspapers of the 1800s and 1900s.

Bibliotheque et Archives Nationales Du Quebec--a number of French-Canadian newspapers of the 1800s and 1900s.

Birmingham Iron Age--some Birmingham, AL newspapers of the late 1800s.

Black Studies Center-offers articles from leading African-American newspapers from the 1800s.

British Periodicals--British magazines published from the 1680s to the 1930s.

Caribbean Newspapers--1718-1876, mostly in English, with some in Spanish, French, and Danish. Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, the Virgin Islands, and Bermuda.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers--a range of newspapers published in late 1800s and early 1900s.

Civil War 1860-1865: A Newspaper Perspective-- contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Coverage begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln.

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876--early American Newspapers from The American Antiquarian Society, private collections and The Library of Congress, Brown, Harvard, et al. Based on the microfilm collection of the same name.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive--many important magazines documenting the early days of the film, television and popular music industries. Notably, includes Billboard (1894-2000), Variety (1905-2000), and The Stage (1880-2000).

Frank Leslie's Weekly (1852-1922)--a popular magazine of the late 1800s and early 1900s.

Gallica--a digital library created by the National Library of France, includes French newspapers of the 1800s and 1900s.

Georgia Historic Newspapers--newspapers from 1750--1925.

Google Books--finds not only books but also thousands of magazines articles! You may wish to set "Full view only" to limit your search to only free, full-text works.

Google News Archive--This special tool from Google allows you to search a variety of news sources from past years.  You can limit to the appropriate date.  Also, please note that you can limit to free sources using the "Price" feature.

Hispanic American Historical Newspapers, 1808-1980--Including many newspapers published bilingually in Spanish and English, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures. Coverage begins in 1808 when the first Spanish-language newspaper in the United States was printed in New Orleans.

Historic Australian Newspapers, 1803-1954--great collection of key papers, searchable by keyword or state.

Historical Jewish Press--Jewish papers from many countries and time periods.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003--Includes over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces. Full color images.

Irish Newspaper Archives--good collection of historical Irish papers.

Irish Periodicals--Villanova University Digital Library--a variety of Irish newspapers and magazines.

JSTOR--scholarly journals from many fields, ranging from the 1600s to the 2000s.

Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922 --huge archives of newspapers of the 1800s and 1900s from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Mexico and several other countries.

Making of America Journals--dozens of journal of the antebellum and Civil War periods of the United States.

National Geographic Virtual Library--complete, digitized archive of National Geographic Magazine, 1888-present.

Nation Archive--one of America's most popular magazines, covering politics, culture, and the fine arts, 1865-present. 

National Library of Wales--has digitized several papers.

NewspaperARCHIVE.com--an extensive database of local papers from cities as well as small towns around the United States.  Contains several Alabama newspapers.

Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers--offers a broad, comprehensive range of national, regional and local newspapers in Britain during the 19th century.

Nineteenth Century Serials Edition--several key British papers, including English Woman's Journal and  Northern Star

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers--a highly recommended resource.  Offers a trove of American newspapers and magazine, including feature articles, editorials, classifieds, advertisements.

19th Century U.K. Periodicals: Series 2, Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial--offers newspapers from around the British Empire, incluidng Australia, New Zealand, India, Ceylon, and South Africa.

PapersPast--collection of New Zealand local papers.

Periodicals Index Online --huge backfiles of scholarly journals, you'll mainly find citations and a few full-texts.

Poole's Plus--An index to nineteenth century literature. Contains the noted indexes: Poole's Index to periodical Literature, New York Times Index, Palmers Index to The Times, Harper's Magazine Index, Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications, and others.  A few full-texts but mainly citations.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers—a highly recommended resource.  Includes major newspapers of the 19th century, including the New York Times (1851-2001), Wall Street Journal (1877-1988), Washington Post (1889—1987). Offers feature articles as well as classifieds and advertisements.

Shen Bao Digital Archive--"the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic of China", 1872-1949

Times Digital Archive--the London Times from 1785 to 1985.

The Word on the Street--"The most popular form of this for nearly 300 years was 'broadsides' - the tabloids of their day. Sometimes pinned up on walls in houses and ale-houses, these single sheets carried public notices, news, speeches and songs that could be read (or sung) aloud."  This site offers nearly 1800 broadsides from Scotland, encompasses the 1800s.

Wellesley Index to Periodical Literature, 1824-1900--"45 major Victorian periodicals of Great Britain."

 

 

1700s 


Accessible Archives--great collection of Civil War, African-American, and other newspapers.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection--covers 1691-1877, feature articles, advertisements, illustrations, obituaries, cover art, and more.

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900--Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Offers feature articles as well as classifieds and advertisements.

British Periodicals--British magazines published from the 1680s to the 1930s.

Caribbean Newspapers--1718-1876, mostly in English, with some in Spanish, French, and Danish. Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, the Virgin Islands, and Bermuda.

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876--early American Newspapers from The American Antiquarian Society, private collections and The Library of Congress, Brown, Harvard, et al. Based on the microfilm collection of the same name.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online--a digitized library of approximately 188,000 titles, representing most of the significant English- and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain and the colonies during the eighteenth century.

Le Gazzette Bolognesi--a famous Italian newspaper.

Google Books--finds not only books but also thousands of magazines articles! You may wish to set "Full view only" to limit your search to only free, full-text works.

JSTOR--scholarly journals from many fields, ranging from the 1600s to the 2000s.

Periodicals Index Online --huge backfiles of scholarly journals, you'll mainly find citations and a few full-texts.

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers--largest single collection of English news media from these two centuries.

Times Digital Archive--the London Times newspaper from 1785 to 1985.

The Word on the Street--Scottish broadsides. "The most popular form of this for nearly 300 years was 'broadsides' - the tabloids of their day. Sometimes pinned up on walls in houses and ale-houses, these single sheets carried public notices, news, speeches and songs that could be read (or sung) aloud."

 

1600s

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection--covers 1691-1877, feature articles, advertisements, illustrations, obituaries, cover art, and more.

British Periodicals--British magazines published from the 1680s to the 1930s.

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876--early American Newspapers from The American Antiquarian Society, private collections and The Library of Congress, Brown, Harvard, et al. Based on the microfilm collection of the same name.

JSTOR--scholarly journals from many fields, ranging from the 1600s to the 2000s.

Le Gazzette Bolognesi--a famous Italian newspaper.

Google Books--finds not only books but also thousands of magazines articles! You may wish to set "Full view only" to limit your search to only free, full-text works.

Periodicals Index Online --huge backfiles of scholarly journals, you'll mainly find citations and a few full-texts.

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers--largest single collection of English news media from these two centuries.

The Word on the Street--Scottish broadsides. "The most popular form of this for nearly 300 years was 'broadsides' - the tabloids of their day. Sometimes pinned up on walls in houses and ale-houses, these single sheets carried public notices, news, speeches and songs that could be read (or sung) aloud."

Finding Newspapers on Microfilm

 

 Microfilm consists of reels with tiny images of newspapers or other materials.  You can use special computers to magnify the images and print, download, or email them.  Many libraries scan old newspapers onto microfilm to save space.

Gorgas Library has most of its microfilm stored in steel drawers in the study area behind the Circulation Desk on the second floor, and computers for reading the microfilm are located in an alcove nearby. Please ask for assistance when placing the film on the computers.