Skip to main content

History: Journal Articles

Welcome to the library guide for history research at the University of Alabama.

General Databases

 I recommend starting your article search with one of these top databases:

Databases by Theme

Religious History

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials  

Economic History

Business Source Premier

Military History

Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals 

Literature and Publishing

MLA International Bibliography

Art, Architecture, Icons, Relics, Performances

Art & Architecture Complete

History of Science

ScienceDirect

Environmental History

GreenFILE

Special Section: European History Databases

  • Historical Abstracts--the premier database for secondary sources in world history. Offers many specialized and local journals that you won't find in JSTOR or other databases.
  • ABSEES Online-over 36,000 records covering articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada.
  • Bibliography of British and Irish History--historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
  • Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft--German language index of (primarily) German language periodicals. Covers all aspects of German language and literature.
  • Bibliography of Linguistic Literature / Bibliographie Linguistischer Literatur (BLL)--general linguistics and related disciplines, as well as for English, German, and Romance linguistics. Other languages are covered to a lesser extent.
  • DigiZeitschriften--full-text collection of core German research journals in a wide range of subjects: arts, humanities, social sciences, law, mathematics, and science. The database includes extensive back files, but no recent issues.
  • Iter-includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
  • Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies-a cluster of databases for medieval studies. International Medieval Bibliography Online - a leading bibliography of the Middle Ages. Interdisciplinary coverage of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500 A.D.) Some coverage of the Middle East and North Africa (c. 400-1500 A.D.).