Skip to main content

History: Books

Welcome to the library guide for history research at the University of Alabama.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

General

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Oxford Reference Online Premium

Oxford Handbooks Online

Biographical

American National Biography Online

Dictionary of National Biography (British and Commonwealth)

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (covers the whole world).

 

In addition to electronic reference books, you can find print reference books in the Reference Room, Floor 2, Gorgas Library.

World History, Call Number: D

American History, Call Number E

Latin American and Alabama History, Call Number F

Books

Print Books at UA:

Scout--searches for books as well as articles and other materials.  To limit your search to books, click into "Advanced Search" and checkmark the "Catalog only" option before searching.

Libraries' Catalog--gives the call numbers and locations of books in Gorgas and most of the other University Libraries.  Select "Advanced Search" for the most effective searches. 

Online Books:

Libraries' Catalog--searches for ebooks in the UA Libraries' databases and ebook packages, including Sabin Americana, Early English Books Online, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and more.  Ebooks have the designation [eelctronic resource] in the results list.

Google Books--find citations to thousands of online books.  Some charge a fee, but others are fully available online for free.

HathiTrust--a group of over 50 libraries offer this ebook collection.

Internet Archive--increasingly one of the best sources of  ebooks.

***Google's main search page searches some, but not all, of the contents of Google Books, Hathi, and Internet Archive.

Browsing the Gorgas Library

Historians find some of their best books by browsing the shelves.  Open the document below for a guide to browsing the Gorgas Library for history books:

Scout Search


Books at Other Libraries

Use WorldCat to search for items from libraries around the world. You can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request items not available in the UA Libraries.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>