Skip to main content

Classics: Articles

Book Reviews

Find book reviews in the Libraries' databases:

  • JSTOR (dates vary, mostly 20th century; limit to "Review" on the Advanced Search page)

Core Databases for Scholarly Articles

Use Scout to simultaneously search multiple database and catalogs for articles, books, and more. For more focused searching, try these essential databases:

Library Databases

JSTOR 
A full-text collection of significant scholarly journals, including a section devoted to classical studies.

Project Muse 
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

L'Année Philologique
An index to scholarly material in the field of Greco-Roman language, literature, archaeology, history, law, science, and philosophy, from prehistory to 800 A.D. (no full text).

 Academic Search Premier 
A database of scholarly and popular articles, covering a wide range of subjects, including Classics.

Artemis Literary Sources
Includes biographies, criticism, and work overviews.


Free Websites

TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)
A free, searchable database from the University of Toronto, providing the tables of contents from almost 200 journals in Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion.

Subject Databases

Find articles and images in these subject databases:

Linguistics

Art

  • Art & Architecture Complete - Articles and images from all periods of history.
     
  • Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984 – An index to articles on all aspects of art, including classical art and archaeology. 
     
  • ArtSTOR - nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.

Philosophy/Religion