Play Index contains records for more than 34,200 plays—published individually or in collections—dating from 1949 to present, and is updated on a weekly basis to incorporate new content. Available content includes nearly 800 monologues from many distinguished playwrights, including Aeschylus, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Anton Checkhov, Tennessee Williams and many more.
LitFinder, formerly PoemFinder and StoryFinder, provides indexing and some full-text access to a wide range of poetry, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches in anthologies. Also included are biographical essays, work overviews, and topic overviews. The database can be searched by author, title, subject, keyword, character name, author’s gender or ethnicity, publication date, document type, or genre.
This edition of North American Indian Drama contains many previously unpublished works and represents groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.
Black Drama contains the full text of plays written by more numerous playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.
The Shakespeare Collection is an interdisciplinary, multimedia collection of resources supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies. Resources include the most recent Arden Shakespeare editions of the complete works, as well as editions and adaptations of Shakespeare’s works published during Shakespeare’s time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosses Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and reference works
Provides essential information on the best-known, best-loved, and most important plays in world theatre. Each entry includes details of the title, author, date of writing, date of first performance, genre, setting, and composition of cast; there is also a summary of the play's plot, and a brief commentary. Genres covered include: burlesque, comedy, farce, historical drama, kabuki, masque, melodrama, morality play, mystery play, No, romantic comedy, tragicomedy, satire, and tragedy. The perfect guide for students and scholars of drama and literature, theatre professionals, and directors looking for plays for performance.
Scout is a powerful search tool that can be used to find both print and electronic resources. Scout simultaneously searches the libraries' catalog, databases, electronic collections, streaming media, and much more.
If an item is not available at the University of Alabama libraries, you may request it through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan system. Visit the libraries' ILLiad page and login with your myBama username and password to make a request.
Online index to plays in collections, anthologies, and periodicals, and in a variety of languages. The sources indexed range from the late 19th century through present day. This database is maintained by the library at Portland State University.