Marketing & Advertising

Images of over 7,000 advertisements printed in the US and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
(PS! Read Copyright information)

"The mission of the Association for Consumer Research is to advance consumer research and facilitate the exchange of scholarly information among members of academia, industry, and government worldwide." (from About ACR)

How to create an effective advertising campaign, using evidence based principles for the development and testing of commercials and print ads.

presented by the Library of Congress.

US data on supermarkets and food markets.

Connecting Advertising, Marketing, Media & PR.

Ad Age Advertising Century: The Top 100 Campaigns

Circulation statistics for newspapers and magazines .

Links to searchable editions of the GreenBook, which provides worldwide listings for marketing research companies and services, and the Focus Group Directory, which offers a comprehensive listing of facilities and services for conducting focus groups.

The Marketing Research Association provides this directory, which includes descriptions of services and facilities owned and operated by data collection companies, research companies and suppliers of related services throughout the United States, Canada and other countries. Users may search for particular services like "focus group facilities" by criteria like location and technology used (e.g., "Web Broadcasting"). To use this site you must register for a free account.

AdForum says that it is "the Internet’s leading portal to the advertising, marketing and communications industry, with direct links to 17800 agencies in 138 countries." You can search to find details (like agency) on a particular brand ad campaign, but if you want a reproduction of the ad, they will charge you money.

This is the major industry group for direct marketers. Some recent news and "Better Marketing" advice is available without logging in, but for much of the "free" content like white papers on topics like e-business strategies and multi-channel marketing, you must sign up for an account. If you are interested in government or ethical issues (like tax collection or spamming), this site can also be useful.

This section off of the main AAAA website allows the user to search for advertising agencies by name or by geographic location.