Skip to main content

Nursing Reference Guide: Articles & Databases

This guide contains nursing resources and information. Links below provide a starting place for your nursing research project.

Remote Access

Remote access to all e-resources requires authentication. MyBama Id and Password is required.

More Health Sciences Databases to find Evidence

PyscINFO - Database to find Behavioral Health and Mental Health related articles, book chapters, and reports.

Eric - to find articles and documents in Education

Trip Database - Clinical Search Tool to find Evidence Based Information

NAHRS Nursing Resources Wiki (free online resource) 

 

Save searches and Create email Alerts - MyNCBI

Save searches and set up e-mail alerts for new results in many NCBI databases.

Create alerts on your topics using PubMed MyNCBI 

Databases

Recommended Databases For Initial Searching

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Full text coverage from over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals. This database also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets.

Cochrane Library

Provides Evidence based  high quality health care data for both providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession. Some full text articles are available.

Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Evidence- Based Practice Database and Tools

JBI’s evidence-based practice model is considered a benchmark in the healthcare industry—encouraging healthcare professionals to implement an effective evidence-based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. It Provides a detailed searching demonstration of this resource and includes information on the subject based nodes along with a review of the seven different publication types (including Best Practice Information Sheets, Evidence–Based Recommended Practices and Consumer Information Sheets) that can be used immediately to inform treatment and guide practice.

 Health Source: Nursing/Academic

A mostly full-text database providing over 500 scholarly journals focusing on a variety of medical disciplines. also included are USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

MEDLINE (Ovid)

The coverage: is from 1948 to present in Nursing & Medicine. Direct links to full-text articles in over 200 journals via OVID in addition to providing links to other UA Libraries' e-journal collections. 

ProQuest Nursing Journals

A mostly full text database providing coverage in a variety of nursing and allied health care journals.

PubMed

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Many articles are full text from PubMed Central (PMC). Links to full text journals owned by the UA Libraries is accessible only when connected through links on Libraries' web site.

R2 Digital Library

R2 Digital Library is a web-based application that aggregates health sciences book content (Inter-disciplinary) from leading publishers on a single platform.

Web of Science

Database for several interdisciplinary citation indexes including the Science Citation Index. Many full-text references available.

Dissertations & Theses  

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, some abstracts, and many full texts for dissertations and theses ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. The full text of most U.S. dissertations and master’s thesis from 1995 forward is provided including those written at The University of Alabama.

 



Other Databases For Further Searching

ScienceDirect

Elsevier published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.

SpringerLink

Springer published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.

Wiley Online Library

Wiley published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.

Scopus

Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus covers 18,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, and medicine.

 

 

Finding Specific Journals

Availability From The University of Alabama Libraries

Electronic Journals Page

Check the Electronic Journals Page first to find a specific journal title and determine if The University of Alabama provides electronic access.

Classic Catalog

If a journal is not available electronically, use our Classic Catalog search engine to determine if the The University of Alabama has a print copy of the journal (limit search results to Journal Title).


Availability From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan

If The University of Alabama Libraries does not provide local access to the journal you are looking for, use our ILL (interlibrary loan service) to request article(s) from another library. This service is free.  Expect the article to arrive within a few days.

Distance Learning

 Distance Ed students and approved commuter students can also use ILL to request that books held by UA Libraries be sent to them by mail.

If you need help with an ILL request, please contact the Interlibrary Loan Department; you can reach them at 205-348-4018 or illstaff@bama.ua.edu.

  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
    Interlibrary loan, or "ILL," is a service that enables you to access books and articles not held in UA libraries.  This page contains ILL contact information and links to policies, FAQs, and more.
  • ILL Document Request Page

Finding specific sources for Term paper/s

For Example to write on Nursing Theorists - Try searching for books on Nursing Theorists or their theories using R2 Digital Library and also databases such as CINAHL