Research Guides: Costume Design: Start Here

Introduction

Welcome to the course guide for Costume Design! This guide provides information on using library and web resources to find books, journal articles, recordings, and digital projects related to your research topic. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Help Desk (located on the first floor) or to contact me directly by email or phone.

Finding Library Resources

Scout
The main search tool for UA Libraries, Scout allows you to search the catalog, most of the libraries' databases, and the digital repository Acumen. Scout is a great place to start a broad search on a topic, but more targeted searching may be more successful in the catalog or subject-specific databases.
A-Z Databases
If you want to access to a specific database, you'll find it here. You can filter the list alphabetically, or browse databases by subject area or type of materials.
Publication Finder
Publication Finder, on the main Libraries page, allows you to search our journal and e-book collection by journal title, or browse by subject.
Interlibrary Loan
If the book or article you need is not available through the University Libraries, you can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy from another library.

Theatre Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
Play Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Play Index contains records for more than 34,200 plays—published individually or in collections—dating from 1949 to present, and is updated on a weekly basis to incorporate new content. Available content includes nearly 800 monologues from many distinguished playwrights, including Aeschylus, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Anton Checkhov, Tennessee Williams and many more.
Black Drama (Second Edition) This link opens in a new window
Black Drama contains the full text of plays written by more numerous playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.
North American Indian Drama, 2nd Edition This link opens in a new window
This edition of North American Indian Drama contains many previously unpublished works and represents groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.

Costume Design

Introduction

Finding Library Resources

Theatre Databases

Get in touch

Hours & information

Socialize with us