Skip to main content

Makerspaces: Makers, Hackers, DIYs, and Hobbyist Reference Guide: More Resources

This guide contains information about the Rodgers Library 3D Studio and other Makerspace resources. Links within provide a starting place for your project.

Books

Books and eBooks Catalog Searching At The University of Alabama

Scout

Use Scout to search The University of Alabama Libraries' catalog for books. Scout also simultaneously searches databases and Internet resources. Very useful for quick and general searches.

Classic Catalog

Use Classic Catalog to search The University of Alabama Libraries' catalog. This is our traditional library catalog search engine and is most useful for specific and highly focused searches.


Books and eBooks At Other Libraries

WorldCat

Use WorldCat to search for books that The University of Alabama does not own. You can request books from other libraries through interlibrary loan.

Articles & Databases

Web of Science

Database for several interdisciplinary citation indexes including the Science Citation Index. Many full-text references available.

Dissertations & Theses  

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, some abstracts, and many full texts for dissertations and theses ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. The full text of most U.S. dissertations and master’s thesis from 1995 forward is provided including those written at The University of Alabama.


ScienceDirect

Elsevier published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.

SpringerLink

Springer published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.

Wiley Online Library

Wiley published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.

Scopus

Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus covers 18,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, and medicine.

 

 

Finding Specific Articles

Availability From The University of Alabama Libraries

Electronic Journals Page

Check the Electronics Journal Page first to find a specific journal title and determine if The University of Alabama provides electronic access to the article.

Classic Catalog

If the article is not available electronically, use our Classic Catalog search engine to determine if the The University of Alabama has a print copy available (limit search results to Journal Title).


Availability From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan

If The University of Alabama Libraries does not provide local access to the article you are looking for, use our ILL (interlibrary loan service) to request a scanned PDF copy from another library. It is completely free to use, and expect your article to arrive within a few days.