Skip to main content

Spears - Environmental Policy: Library Resources

A Guide to Library Resources for students in NEW 365

Ask Me

This guide presents a brief introduction to library resources for students in NEW 365: "Introduction to Environmental Policy." For further help, please contact me:

Michael Pearce 

Office: 110 Gorgas Library

Telephone: 205-348-6194

Emailpearc007@ua.edu


See also these library subject guides:

American Studies
Geography
Government Information
History

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find what you need in the UA Libraries?

Borrow the material from another library by Interlibrary Loan:

  • Universal Borrowing - a quick loan service from our Alabama partners: Auburn, Auburn at Montomery, Jacksonville State, or UAB (books only)
  • Illiad - an expansive loan program with libraries throughout the country (books & articles)

Citation Guides

For help with citations, see these guides:

Articles

SCOUT
Simultaneously searches the Libraries' catalog, 90+ library databases, and 60+ free Internet sources.

  • Use the "Source Type" limit on the left side of the page to limit to "Academic Journals" or "Magazines."

Note: Databases with an asterisk (*) are NOT fully indexed in Scout.

ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES

  • * Science Direct
    An excellent resource for environmental studies.
  • E&E News 
  • E&E News is a news organization focusing on energy and the environment.  

  • GreenFILE
    A research database focusing on the relationship between humans and the environment.

HISTORY & POLICY

 HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and  access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Great for Gov Docs!

ANTHROPOLOGY/SOCIOLOGY


PRO & CON

  • * Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites on controversial issues.
     
  • * CQ Researcher
    Weekly in-depth reports on a variety of current events topic. Each report includes an abstract, overview, background summary, current situation, outlook, special focus, chronology, pro/con, and bibliography.

GENERAL

  • * JSTOR
    Scanned images of scholarly journals in a wide range of subjects, including environmental studies; includes extensive backfiles, but little recent (last 3-5 years) material.
     
  • * Project MUSE
    A multidisciplinary full-text database, with current issues and backfiles.
     

For additional resources, see the Subject Guides on the Libraries' Databases Page.

Books

UA LIBRARIES

  • Use the "Catalog Only" limit on the results page in Scout to see items in the UA Libraries,
  • Or search the Libraries' Catalog directly.

WORLDCAT 

  • A comprehensive catalog of books in more than 9,000 libraries worldwide. Use WorldCat to find books that UA does not own; request these book by Interlibrary Loan.

SELECTED REFERENCE BOOKS

Newspapers

For a complete list of the Libraries' online newspaper collections, use the Type menu on the Libraries' Databases page.

* Proquest Newspapers
Full-text coverage from U.S. and international newspapers - includes The Tuscaloosa News2006-present.

Includes these subsets, which can be searched separately:

* America's News
Includes many local Alabama newspapers, including The Birmingham News, 1993-present.

Primary Sources

For a comprehensive list of primary sources in the Libraries' databases, see the "Primary Source" page on the American Studies guide.

For Internet resources, see the Websites page of this guide.