Skip to main content

Civil War Primary Sources in the A.S. Williams III Americana Collection: Overview

What's Cool@ Hoole

 

Digital Collections

From the Perkins Collection, UA Libraries Digital Program

The purpose of the Digital Program at the University Libraries is to develop accessible digital collections of materials that support the teaching and research of UA faculty and students, and that, in turn, further the mission of The University of Alabama. The Digital Program coordinates major digitization projects and actively develops policy and procedure relating to digital project and program development. For more information about the program, contact Jody L. DeRidder.

 

Search our Digital Collections

Browse our Digital Collections


Searching for Manuscripts

The manuscripts in the A.S. Williams III Collection reflect the history and culture of Alabama and the Southeast. Collections include letters and documents from United States presidents, Civil War figures and politicians, early American statesmen, Southern literary figures, and notable African Americans. We have made abstracts and finding aids available for some of our collections through Acumen.

What is a Finding Aid?
A finding aid is a document that assists patrons who wish to use a manuscript collection for research. A researcher can use a finding aid to understand the contents of a collection and how it is organized. Researchers should keep in mind that the finding aid merely describes the collection. In addition, the finding aid does not contain actual materials from the collection.Finding aids in the Williams Collection offer at the minimum the following information about each collection:

Title:
Usually includes the creator of the collection along with a basic description of the materials in the collection. If a collection created by Thomas Jones Taylor contains only letters, for instance, the collection title will be "Thomas Jones Taylor letters." Many collections contain several types of material such as letters, diaries, financial records, and photographs.

Creator:
The creator of a collection might be an individual, family, civic organization, business, or other entities. In addition, an individual or organization may have gathered materials created by someone else.

Manuscript collection number:
Each manuscript collection is assigned a unique four-digit identification number.

Extent or size of the collection:
Size of a collection is usually expressed in linear feet.

Restrictions:
Access to some collections may be restricted either by donor request or so that the institution may adhere to privacy laws protecting, for example, personal medical history.

Preferred citation:
The official title, including the library and university name, patrons should use when referencing the collection in a published work.

Biographical or Organizational History:
Usually presented in narrative form, this section of the finding aid provides background information about the creator or creating agency. When possible, the creator's complete biography is included. The biographical or organizational history may include information found in the collection as well as published sources.

Scope and Contents Note:
Describes the contents of the collection and should give the reader an idea of the kinds of materials in the collection. The scope and contents note highlight the strengths of the collection.

Languages used in the collection:
Lists of all languages represented in the collection.

Container List:
Lists the box, folder number, and folder titles for the collection.

Reference Code:
Includes a code for the country(US), a repository code(ALM), and an identification number for each collection(4-digit number assigned by staff).

Contact Information

Email: archives@bama.ua.edu

Phone: (205) 348-1489

Gorgas Library, Room 301

Curator: Dr. Nancy DuPree

Director of Research and Academic Programs: Dr. Christopher Sawula

Special Collections Cataloger: Jennifer Cabanero

Online Exhibits

Scenes from Lincoln Normal School

This exhibit features two rare photograph albums from the Lincoln Normal School, an influential African American school opened in Marion, Alabama in 1868.

Likenesses within the Reach of All

A digital project focused on the cartes de visite within the Williams collection. The project explores the spread of photography throughout the American South and the studios and galleries that opened over the late nineteenth century.