Skip to main content

Special Collections - Native American History: Native Americans in War

Native Americans in War

  • Guide to the Different Bands of Comanches and their Probably Location and Population: Manuscript (MSS.4147): The collection contains the nine page manuscript by Lieutenant J. S. Stewart (CSA), describing the various bands of Comanches, indicating the tribe numbers and probable locations, inhabiting mainly Arkansas and Texas. The document most likely was written with a view to recruiting the Indians to the Confederate cause. There is also Stewart's handwritten copy of Albert Pike's 1861(?) treaty with the Comanches.
  • Jesse Griffin Letter (MSS.0597): The collection contains a letter dated 5 September 1813, from St. Stephens, Alabama, to his parents in which Griffin states that he has traveled fifty miles in flight from Indians, who killed more than 400 people in five days. On 30 August 1813, Creek Indians under the leadership of William Weatherford, also known as Red Eagle, attacked white settlers at Fort Mims near the convergence of the Alabama and Tombigbee Rivers, killing approximately 500 people. Although Griffin and his family survived, they lost their crops, livestock, and most of their household goods. This attack was part of the Creek Indian War that lasted from 1813-1814 when Creek Indians attacked white settlers who were moving into Creek lands. The Creek War ended on 27 March 1814, when General Andrew Jackson defeated Red Eagle and his warriors at the Battle of Horseshoe Bend in Alabama.
  • The William Brantley, Hugh Comer, and Thomas Martin Correspondence on the Battle of Horseshoe Bend (W.0060): Includes a series of correspondence discussing an advertisement published by Avondale Mills referencing the Battle of Horseshoe Bend and Creek Indian leader William Weatherford. Brantley argued the advertisement presented inaccurate information, while Martin defended its content. The collection also includes a program commemorating the sesquicentennial of the Battle of Horseshoe Bend, historical pamphlets on the battle written by Brantley and Martin, and a photograph and map of the battle site. Dates 1948-1964.