Customer Relationships
Best Bets:
eMarketer
- eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Deep coverage of spending, marketing, demographic and social behaviors in the digital world (social media, internet and mobile application, company spending, consumer reception, and financial data).
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Detailed research reports aggregated from research and consulting services. With global coverage the major categories include consumer goods, food & beverage, heavy industry, services, public sector, life sciences, technology and marketing.
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new windowVery detailed information about your customers, what they buy and how often.
Start by choosing a company or industry. Browse the reports to find the one that best meets your needs. - Winmo This link opens in a new windowSearch for a company. You'll get basic information, but you will also find how much they spend on various advertising/media types.
- SRDS: Standard Rate and Data Service This link opens in a new windowClicking on a media type, on the left, will show you geographies and sub-sectors. This provides you with information about reaching consumers within your marketplace, how much it'll cost you and the key demographics.
Customer Segments
Best Bets:
Simmons Insights
- eMarketer This link opens in a new windowProvides extremely detailed coverage of consumer behavior and how they pertain to the digital world. For example, how often do college students make purchases based on Facebook recommendations?
Do a search for a company, product or industry (using the top search box) and you'll get a lot of reports/stats that you can use. - IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowThis will provide industry-level information on the consumers that will be buying your services.
Use the Industry Outlook tab to find out where the industry is heading. Combine this with the user -focused databases (Simmons, Mintel) for a full analysis of consumer trends. - MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Detailed research reports aggregated from research and consulting services. With global coverage the major categories include consumer goods, food & beverage, heavy industry, services, public sector, life sciences, technology and marketing.
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Provide market information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles and leisure. Industries covered include airlines, automotive, beauty and personal products, apparel, food and food service, health and wellness, technology, and retailing. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowIf your customer base are businesses rather than consumers, this will allow you to find all companies in the U.S. that meet your requirements.
- Simmons Insights This link opens in a new windowGenerate cross tabulation data from thousands of variables. Allows you to drill-down to specific consumers and find out their purchasing activity, buying behaviors and time-use on various activities.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowChoose a location (can be as small as a couple of blocks or as large as the U.S.) and then select a variable you'd like information on. For example, show me the number of coffee shops in Mobile, AL. Or, the average income in Orange County, CA.
- WRDS This link opens in a new windowGives you access to advanced financial databases.
As an undergraduate, you have the ability to gain access to this database with a one-day pass. Contact a librarian for more information.
Channels
Best Bets:
Winmo
- eMarketer This link opens in a new windowProvides extremely detailed coverage of consumer behavior and how they pertain to the digital world. For example, how often do college students make purchases based on Facebook recommendations?
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Provide market information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles and leisure. Industries covered include airlines, automotive, beauty and personal products, apparel, food and food service, health and wellness, technology, and retailing. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.
- Winmo This link opens in a new windowGreat to find out how much it will cost you to reach consumers in a certain market, and what the most effective channels are for doing that.
Search for a company. You'll get basic information, but you will also find how much they spend on various advertising/media types. - Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Simmons Insights, formerly Simmons OneView, contains data from the National Consumer study, an annual survey of U.S. consumers' buying and media habits. Use to create customized reports of the data. The most recent data available is two years old.
- SRDS: Standard Rate and Data Service This link opens in a new window
SRDS provides media rates (ad prices) and related data for advertisers. It lists advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation and other basic information (e.g. how many years in business and the name of the owner) for a broad range of media selling advertising space. SRDS also contains selected demographic and market information for metropolitan areas and counties.