Colonial America

Colonial America offers volumes of the CO 5 series, spanning 1606-1822, from The National Archives, UK, providing a valuable resource for historical historians.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment explores relationships between Native American, African, and European peoples from 1534-1850, using primary sources and personal accounts.

This collection of monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera includes 16 cross-searchable components.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries offers a large collection of women's diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years.

Rotunda’s American Founding Era Collection offers primary and secondary source documents from some of the most preeminent figures of that age. This collection includes the papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madision, Dolly Madision, Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, John Jay and more.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is a digitized library representing most of the significant English- and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain and the colonies during the eighteenth century. Subject access to this collection is provided by the British Library’s online English Short Title Catalogue.

Gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. It consists of books, serials, manuscript collections, supreme court records and briefs, reference articles, and encyclopedias. 

The database is in four parts: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: The Institution of Slavery and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.

This collection of historical periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society documents life in America from the Colonial period through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Cover-to-cover digitizing gives access not only to the main text, but also to advertisements, illustrations, obituaries, cover art, and more.

Digitized versions of early American Newspapers from The American Antiquarian Society, private collections and The Library of Congress, Brown, Harvard, et al. Based on the microfilm collection of the same name.

This collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines.

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 is an extensive online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers, providing a comprehensive resource for studying Western society, international relations, colonial history, and U.S. relations.

The largest single collection of English news media from the 17th and 18th century, the Burney Collection Newspapers provides rare and often unique content for scholarly research into a wide range of political, educational, economic and journalistic study. It charts the development of the newspaper as it is currently known from irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates to coffee house news books to its current form.

ARTstor is a digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.