Ask Me
Finding Specific Journals
Check the Electronic Journals Page first to find a specific journal title and determine if The University of Alabama provides electronic access.
If a journal is not available electronically, use our Classic Catalog search engine to determine if the The University of Alabama has a print copy of the journal (limit search results to Journal Title).
If The University of Alabama Libraries does not provide local access to the journal you are looking for, use our ILL (interlibrary loan service) to request article(s) from another library. This service is free. Expect the article to arrive within a few days.
Databases
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n (SFn), the new version of SciFinder, provides access to: Chemical Abstracts (articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, and more; 1907-present); the Registry Database (registry numbers and names of chemical substances; 1957-present); and the CASREACT database (reaction searching; 1985-present). Also included is access to CHEMCATS (commercial sources for purchasing chemicals), CHEMLIST (regulated chemical information), and the SciFinder PatentPak plugin. PatentPak provides access to full text patents and indexed substance information within the patent.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) offers a wide range of interdisciplinary content. Also included: prominent journals and conference proceedings, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).
- Compendex This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations for engineering and technical literature published worldwide from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports and monographs.
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Web Editions This link opens in a new window
Publications of the American Chemical Society, a leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Inspec created by the IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers), is the leading bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing and information technology.
- OnePetro This link opens in a new windowOnePetro.org is a multi-society digital library that provides access to a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
- Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals This link opens in a new window
Publications of the Royal Society of Chemistry, scientific publisher of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics high-impact journals and books.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Information source for scientific, medical, and technical research, and also includes social science and humanities topics. Contains articles on topics such as chemistry, mathematics, computer and materials science, and medicine, and links to journal titles and articles that have been accepted for publication but not yet in print. Users also have access to Medline, a web search engine, and information on available jobs for scientists.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes journals and books in the areas of business, chemistry, computer science, earth science, education, engineering, law, life and medical sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, and psychology.