Searching for Journals
UA Libraries has access to hundreds of online and bound journal publications.
Print copies of journals are found in the Libraries' Catalog by selecting "journal title" in the drop down box next to the search field. They can be located in the stacks by call number.
E-journals, found only online, may be accessed via the Libraries' website: E-journal Search
Here, titles may be searched or browsed by title and subject.
Search Tips
Database Tutorials
EBSCO offers a video tutorial on searching, which applies to all databases in general, with specific examples for EBSCO
ProQuest Databases - in the UA Databases list include ABI Inform, (business) Research Library Complete, (Education, and general University topics) and Dissertations & Theses, all all have the same platform. The video tutorial for Proquest demonstrates the Business database, but applies to other databases.
Searching for Articles
The following databases lead you to journal articles, except where noted.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. Its strength is in journals published by professional societies in education.
ERIC (EBSCO: Online) (AVL)
Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for over 950,000 articles and documents from 1966 onward. It includes book reviews, dissertations and theses, full text ERIC Documents, which include policy papers, school district publications, and professional presentations.
Professional Development Collection (AVL)
This resource offers a specialized collection of citations, abstracts, and full-text articles and images for education professionals. Covers topics from children's health and development to pedagogical theory and practice from 500 + professional development titles.
PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including education.
Social Sciences Citation Index Also known as WEB of Knowledge
A multidisciniplinary database that includes educational research. It indexes abstract and journal citations by topic, author, and publication, etc.
Academic Search Premier (AVL)
Contains the full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. It also contains indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 magazines, news sources and refereed journals in nearly every area of academic study. Education is one of the many topics included, so it can give a broader perspective on some topics, such as technology or community issues.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a subset of Google Web Search that is limited to scholarly literature, including papers, theses books, and reports.
Education Subject Guides |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
