Skip to main content

Spears - NEW416/NEW442 American Environmental Thought, Environmental Ethics: Start Here: Library Resources

A guide to library resources for students in NEW 416/442

Ask Me

This guide presents a brief introduction to library resources for students in Dr. Ellen Griffith Spears's NEW 442/AMS 430 class.  For further help, please contact me:

Michael Pearce 
Gorgas Information Services
pearc007@ua.edu
348-6194
110 Gorgas Library 

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find what you need in the UA Libraries?

Borrow the material from another library by Interlibrary Loan:

  • Universal Borrowing - a quick loan service from our Alabama partners: Auburn, Auburn at Montomery, Jacksonville State, or UAB (books only)
  • Illiad - an expansive loan program with libraries throughout the country (books & articles)

Core Databases

SCOUT
Simultaneously searches the Libraries' catalog, 90+ library databases, and 60+ free Internet sources.

  • Use the "Source Type" limit on the left side of the page to limit to "Academic Journals," "Magazines," "Primary Sources," or other useful formats.
  • Use the "Catalog Only" limit to see items in the UA Libraries, or search the Libraries' Catalog directly.

Note: Databases with an asterisk (*) are NOT fully indexed in Scout.

ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES

Explore everything JSTOR has to offer in the field of Sustainability – a wide range of journals, e-books and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the Biological Sciences, Business & Economics, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Law, Public Health, Urban Studies, and many other disciplines.

Daily news updates on a variety of environmental and energy policy topics as well as links to online publications from E&E Publishing. Also includes video clips and compiled reports on specific subjects.

An excellent resource for environmental studies.

  • GreenFILE
    A research database focusing on the relationship between humans and the environment.

HISTORY & CULTURE

POLICY

  • Public Affairs Index
    Resources on global contemporary public policy issues, including the environment and public health.

PHILOSOPHY

  • Philosopher's Index
    A comprehensive index, with some full text, to scholarly literature in all areas of philosophy, including ethics.

PRO & CON

  • * Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites on controversial issues.
     
  • * CQ Researcher
    Weekly in-depth reports on a variety of current events topic. Each report includes an abstract, overview, background summary, current situation, outlook, special focus, chronology, pro/con, and bibliography.

GENERAL

  • Academic Search Premier
    A database with broad coverage, including both popular and scholarly sources.
  • * JSTOR
    Scanned images of scholarly journals in a wide range of subjects, including environmental studies; includes extensive backfiles, but little recent (last 3-5 years) material.
     
  • * Project MUSE
    A multidisciplinary full-text database, with current issues and backfiles.
     

For additional resources, see the Subject Guide on the Libraries' Databases Page.

Newspapers

For a complete list of the Libraries' online newspaper collections, use the "Type" menu on the Libraries' Databases page.

* Proquest Newspapers
Full-text coverage from U.S. and international newspapers.

Includes these subsets, which can be searched separately:

* LexisNexis Academic
Full-text resources on topics including U.S. and world news; legal cases; and government regulations.

Reference

See these online encyclopedias & dictionaries for background information:

Encyclopedia of American Studies - an online edition, frequently updated.

Columbia Guide to American Environmental History - a guide by Carolyn Merchant, included in the database History Reference Center.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy - included in the database Opposing Viewpoints.

Britannica Online - an electronic edition of the print encyclopedia, with many online-only features.

Oxford Reference Online - reference books in a wide variety of disciplines from Oxford University Press.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - encyclopedias, almanacs, etc.

Citation Guides

For help with citations, see these online guide from the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue: