This Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of literary criticism/theory. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries and sub-entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. The Guide is updated annually.
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis (criticisms) of authors from every age and literary discipline. The LRC covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of many of the most-studied authors. Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement, or literary themes or combine criteria. Also includes work overviews and and plot summaries.
The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers thousands of comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers. For the author Companions, each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analyzed, either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed.
Select "View all" and check the box labeled "Area Studies" on the next page to find titles like "The Cambridge Companion to German Romanticism" and "The Cambridge Companion to the Literature of Berlin."
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for authors in the U.S. and around the world.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography is the online version of the series with the same name that provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of authors from all eras and genres.
The Verfasser-Datebank is the primary resource for German literature of the Middle Ages and the Early Modern period. The resource allows users to search for articles on German-language authors from these periods.
KLG - Critical Dictionary of Contemporary German Literature is the standard work on contemporary German literature of the 20th and 21st centuries. Contains articles that comprehensively identify notable German-speaking authors. Detailed essays overlooking work and impact are complemented by extensive business directories and bibliographies of secondary literature.
Designed to provide English readers of German literature the opportunity to familiarize themselves with both the established canon and newly emerging literatures that reflect the concerns of women and ethnic minorities, the Encyclopedia of German Literature includes over 500 entries on writers, individual work, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition. Drawing on the expertise of an international group of experts, the essays in the encyclopedia reflect developments of the latest scholarship in German literature, culture, and history and society. In addition to the essays, "author" entries include biographies and works lists; and "works" entries provide information about first editions, selected critical editions, and English-language translations.
Designed to be a reliable source of information on the whole sweep of literature from German-speaking countries from the eighth century onwards, the Companion comes right up to the mid-1990s, including works such as Gunter Grass's controversial novel about the unification of East and West Germany, Ein weites Feld (1995). The entries, arranged in a single alphabetical sequence, cover authors and their major works, as well as historical, intellectual, and cultural backgrounds.
Iter’s bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues). Also includes a directory of scholars, Iter Italicum, and online journals.
The Index Religiosus is an international reference bibliography for academic publications in Theology, Religious Studies and Church History. It covers publications written in various European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, etc.). In addition to expanding content and features, it consists of two existing bibliographies: the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus from the journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses. These two tools are internationally recognized as essential working instruments for Theology and Religious Studies.
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
Early European Books is a multidisciplinary collection of materials published in Europe or in European languages, c. 1455-1700. Drawn from the collections of major European libraries, this project includes founding works of modern sciences; accounts of travel, exploration and warfare; major works of the Italian Renaissance; volumes of Incunabula; works of the church fathers, the Protestant Reformation, and the Counter-Reformation; and many influential works of literature and philosophy.
FBIS is comprised of the collections from the Archives of the Central Intelligence Agency including government publications, magazines, newspapers and transcribed television and radio broadcasts. Collected between 1941-1996 and translated into English by the Central Intelligence Agency, these intelligence reports are an indispensable source for insight into decades of turbulent world history. Now available in a fully searchable digital collection, these primary source documents provide crucial news and information from all countries outside of the U.S. during the second half of the 20th century. Collections include:
Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996
American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam
American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction
Propaganda and the Chinese Press
Pravda Archive, 1959-1996
The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991
World Protest and Reform Movements
The Center for Research Libraries is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries committed to making rare scholarly resources available to scholars. The vast CRL holdings, which are available by interlibrary loan, include foreign governments; foreign doctoral dissertations; textbooks; pre-1975 college catalogs; serials from the Russian Federation and former Soviet republics; and scientific research materials. In addition, the Center maintains numerous subject collections pertaining to the history and literature of countries throughout the world. Six area studies microfilming projects cover Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Slavic and Eastern European countries.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. NOTE: Kanopy HBO titles require High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP). Please ensure you are using a device and monitor that support HDCP.
The Criterion Collection showcases the definitive versions of seminal titles in the history of motion pictures in streaming format. This film selection details the history of film in the 20th Century, covering the works of Charlie Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman, Jean-Luc Godard, Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Welles, among others.
Films on Demand is a comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos licensed from established educational media distributors. Videos cover a wide range of academic subjects, and users can create their own unique custom segments. The interface also allows searching by title, by keywords in segments, browsing titles alphabetically, and browsing or searching within the subject areas, capturing citations, and many titles offer closed-captioning and searchable transcripts.
Access to length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met’s Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. All videos include English subtitles, and recent HD videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and/or Swedish. New titles are added every month, with most of the Met’s Live in HD programs coming online a few months after their live transmission date. Every opera includes an English synopsis, with synopses in multiple languages available for many more.
An aggregate website that collects live streams from television stations worldwide, including Germany. Under the "Countries" tab (upper left), you can also watch television streams from other German-speaking countries.
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Also Included in this collection are Alabama, African American, Ethnic and Military, Government & Defense news sources.
Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as in English. In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
The Institutional Repository (IR) is a platform for collecting, preserving, and distributing the scholarly, research, and creative works produced by The University of Alabama community. It supports and supplements academic publishing and scholarly communication via a searchable, open access, web-based publishing platform for scholarly articles, presentations, creative works, theses and dissertations, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Formerly Digital Dissertations) includes citations, some abstracts, and many full texts for dissertations and theses ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. The full text of most U. S. dissertations and master’s thesis from 1995 forward is provided including those written at The University of Alabama.
A companion database to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, this database consists of current research at the University of Alabama and includes citations (and many abstracts) for dissertations and theses from the university. For the majority of titles published after 1996 (and in some cases prior to 1996), a preview of the first 24 pages is provided as well as the full text, which can be downloaded for free by authorized University of Alabama users.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts, LLC.
This online version of the Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (Bibliographie Linguistischer Literatur) provides information for general linguistics and related disciplines, as well as for English, German, and Romance linguistics. Other languages are covered to a lesser extent. The database includes journal articles, conference proceedings and other collective works, monographs, dissertations, and Festschriften.
IED Online is a collection of thirteen dictionaries that together reconstruct the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates, and often extensive bibliographical information.
- Etymological Dictionary of the Armenian Inherited Lexicon
- Etymological Dictionary of the Baltic Inherited Lexicon
- Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Celtic
- Old Frisian Etymological Dictionary
- Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Germanic
- Etymological Dictionary of Greek
- Etymological Dictionary of the Hittite Inherited Lexicon
- Etymological Dictionary of the Iranian Verb
- Etymological Dictionary of Latin
- Cuneiform Luvian Lexicon
- Reconstructing Proto-Nostratic
- Etymological Dictionary of the Slavic Inherited Lexicon
- Etymological Dictionary of Tocharian B
A project of the University of Leipzig. The Wortschatz-Portal examines public websites to analyze usages of and relationships between words. An excellent resource for seeing how German words and phrases are used every day in online environments. Its "Wörter des Tages" (Words of the Day) features shows which words and terms are trending online.