Overview
This resource guide provides suggestions for databases to use, periodicals to monitor, and organizations and books to be aware of for students of higher education. Please contact your librarian if you would like help with library research.
Databases for Locating Information on Higher Education
-
Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive full-text research database is designed for education students, professionals, and policymakers, covering all levels of education and specialties like multilingual education, health education, and testing.
-
ERIC EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
ERIC Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for articles and documents from 1966 onward.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
-
Scopus with ScopusAI This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
University Libraries is conducting a 1-year pilot subscription to Scopus AI to assess the benefits and features of the product. Pilot access to the Scopus AI product is available through December 2026.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts,covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage: 1900-present.
-
Web of Science with AI Research Assistant This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) offers a wide range of interdisciplinary content. Also included: prominent journals and conference proceedings, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).
University Libraries is conducting a 1-year pilot subscription to Web of Science AI Research Assistant to assess the benefits and features of the product. Pilot access to the Web of Science AI Research Assistant product is available through September 2026.
