OneSearch User Guide

Select any of the below sources to learn more about the materials and items you are simultaneously searching  with OneSearch

Scout     |    The Libraries’ Catalog     |    Electronic Resources    |   Libraries' Website  

Databases    |   Frequently Asked Questions    |    Research Guides    |    Digital Archives

Scout is the libraries' main discovery tool, meaning that we bring together a significant amount of library resources (not all though!) for easy ​searching and retrieval from a single search box. 

OneSearch 

• Runs a keyword search in full-text article content, article titles, and book titles 

Searching within Scout

• Limit your results by additional source types, subjects, publications, and more.
• Expand your search further with links to additional databases in the results interface
• View an instructional video on advanced searching in Scout

The Libraries' Catalog (Classic Catalog) provides access to all of the material holdings we have at UA Libraries. Search for books, journal titles, government documents, maps, sheet music, video, audio recordings, and more.

​OneSearch 

• Runs a keyword title search through the material holdings at the University of Alabama Libraries

Searching within the Catalog

• Advanced search and filters can help narrow down a specific resource 
• View an instructional video on how to search the catalog

Available e-books and e-journals make up the Libraries' e-resources.

OneSearch

• Runs a keyword search on electronic journal and e-book titles here at UA Libraries 

Searching within the E-Resources Page

• Find e-journals and e-books by title 
• Browse e-resources by title
• Browse and discover e-resources by subject category

Databases are indexes of information about published material. Purchased by the libraries and searchable by subject (English, Engineering, etc.) and resource type (Newspaper, Biographies, Abstracts, etc.) 

OneSearch

• Runs a keyword search on the titles and descriptions of our 450+ databases

Searching within the Databases Page

• Fully searchable by title, subject, or content type
• Access to thousands of online journals, reference materials, images, articles, and more

OneSearch is heavily integrated with the Google search API (Application Programming Interface), and searches 3 separate custom API "buckets" or distinct areas: The Libraries' Website, our FAQs, and our Research Guides

OneSearch

• Searches the Google index for the UA website, and will return results based on this index location (such as policies, or the library directory, or hours, etc.)
• Run a search for library equipment, software, or find information about library services (study rooms, practice presentation rooms, etc.).  

The library maintains an extremely comprehensive FAQ database (Ask A  Librarian) that contains natural language answers for common questions asked by students, such as: 

• “Where can I find a quiet place to study?”
• “How do I check out a book?”
• "How do I request an item via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)? 

OneSearch

• Runs a keyword search and matches an index that is specific to only the Frequently Asked Questions content. 

Searching within the FAQs

• Use the search bar and dropdown suggestions to look for an answer to your question
• Browse through featured, most popular, and recently asked questions 
• Submit a new question if your answer is not available and someone will try to answer you within 24 hours 

Research guides are a great starting point for your library research. Guides contain library resources (databases, journals, etc.)  and non-library resources (websites, films, etc.) for different subjects or classes. 

With the Google API, OneSearch matches an index that is specific to Research Guides only. Helpful when looking for (or matching) course-specific resources as well as searching general subject research guides. 

OneSearch

• Looks for keywords in the titles and content of over 200 different guides

Searching within Research Guides

• Guides are grouped together by subject area, so feel free to explore related areas
• Guides also point you towards a subject expert, citation help, and research tips. 

In our digital archives you can find historical records, maps, letters, yearbooks, magazines, photographs, drawings, UA theses and dissertations and so much more, all available for you to digitally explore. 

OneSearch

• Runs a keyword search through titles and item descriptions. 

Searching within our Digital Collections

• Search collections by placing a search term in the upper right hand search box.
• Advanced search is also available.

The Bento also searches the University Libraries' YouTube Channel. which contains a variety of instructional and informational videos about using library resources, items, tools and facilities. 

To search our YouTube channel directly, please visit YouTube:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsDuwCJv5oDvrPNQnNVbfUQ