Skip to main content

Special Collections - War and Military History: WWII

World War II (1939-1945)

newspaper front page with headline: invasion

Our collections on World War II service are wide ranging, including soldiers serving at home and abroad, from Europe and Africa to India, China, and the South Pacific. It also includes two serving in women's reserve units.

Be sure to use the tabs at the top of each box to see more resources, organized by military branch.

Serving Abroad - Europe and Africa

Wyndham G. Allen letters (MSS.2042)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized content online
  • This collection consists of eleven letters from Wyndham G. Allen, United States Army, during World War II, to his sister, Francesca Allen, in Louisville and Covington, Kentucky. The dates of these letters range from 15 June 1941, to 16 April 1943. He writes about his daily activities, getting a furlough, being in Africa, and missing his family.

Bill Berman (in Berman Family papers, MSS.2329)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized content online
  • Contains material created and kept by the Berman family of St. Louis, Missouri. Letters written by Dr. William (Bill) Berman and his wife Marian make up the bulk of the collection. These are primarily letters written by Bill and Marian from Ft. Riley, Kansas, where Bill served as an Army doctor. Bill wrote a large number of the letters in Hebrew.

Homer Blaine Bledsoe letter and photographs (MSS.2035)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized content online

Jimmie W. Bokros Letter (MSS.1972)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collection consists of one letter from Jimmie W. Bokros to Gloria Motz of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, written on July 5, 1944 from "Somewhere in France." In the letter Bokros tells her that he is in France and that he is okay. He asks her to tell "Uncle Art" that he will bring home any stamps he can get for him.

Leonard Burkins, Jr., Letter (MSS.2331)

  • Link goes to finding aid online

Julius Casciotti Letter (MSS.1995)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collection consists of a letter by Sergeant Julius Casciotti who served in the Medical Department of the 18th Infantry in North Africa during World War II, written to the Citizens Committee of Tompkins County in Ithaca, Tompkins County, New York thanking them for his Christmas check.

Dalton Lee Driver World War II photographs and postcards (MSS.4019)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains snapshots taken by Dalton L. Driver while he was stationed in Europe during World War II. There are also postcards (some depicting World War I images), French and German paper money, and a mimeographed set of orders for travel arrangements for temporary duty. The collection also includes a rolled photograph of Driver's unit while at Camp Campbell, Kentucky, in 1944.

Julius F. Eckart Collection (MSS.1991)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection consists of letters written by P.F.C. Julius F. "Julie" Eckart of the 670th and the 671st Port Company Regiment, Transportation Corps to Violet Earle of Evanston, Cook County, Illinois. Eckart describes his various duties, particularly guard duty, and the weather while stationed in Iran from July 1943 to January 21, 1945.

Lewis W. Haupt letters (MSS.3493)

  • Link goes to finding aid online

Ralph Murray Havens papers (MSS.0650)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains diaries, letters, and other papers related to Havens's service in the European Theater of Operations, 1944-1945. The bulk of this collection consists of almost daily letters to his wife and sons while stationed in Europe, recounting his activities and observations on the people and places he had seen. The letters also contain insights into and comments on the European situation and Allied policy. Additional papers relate to his military service.

Bill Hilton Letter (MSS.1994)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collection consists of one V-Mail letter from Staff Sergeant Bill Hilton, serving with the Headquarter Company of the 1st Battalion, 47th Infantry in Belgium in September 1944, written to his mother, Mrs. E.R. Hilton of Crafton, Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. This letter apparently is an immediate continuation of an earlier V-Mail.

Thomas E. Holt Diary (MSS.1965)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collection consists of one diary kept by Thomas E. Holt, a Captain, then Major, then Lieutenant Colonel in the 343rd Engineer Regiment during World War II. The diary tracks the places he was stationed, the weather, and the various building jobs the Company was assigned from April 1942 through March 1945.

Donald Householder Letters (MSS.2544)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • Contains letters from a staff sergeant (later, master sergeant) on the French and German fronts during the end of World War II, writing to his parents with daily news and looking forward to going home. Householder discusses acquaintances and sight-seeing, anticipation for his return home, and one letter describes Hitler's personal yacht, which Householder's company took possession of.

William Jolley (in Jolley Family Letters, MSS.1990)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • This collection consists of 12 letters written by Amy, William Jr., and Jack while William and Jack were in the Armed Services during World War II -- William with the 363rd Infantry, 91st Division in Italy and Jack with the 642nd Engineer Company in New Guinea. Amy's two letters, dated July 12 and July 29, 1944, to William were returned as he was initially declared missing in action and then confirmed dead on July 24, 1944. His last letter, dated July 17, 1944, was written to Amy and her family from "Somewhere in Italy" and mentions that he'd been in combat.

Edward M. Knight Letters (MSS.2156)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • Letters from Sgt. Edward Knight, stationed in Fort Belvoir, Virginia, North Africa, Italy and France to friend Lacey Ennis of Fitzgerald, Georgia. Discusses camp life, native life, army censorship, weather, travels in Europe. Two letters are on American Red Cross letterhead; one is on Fort Belvoir, Virginia letterhead. Includes four photos, three of Knight, depicting Army life in Europe during World War Two.

Charles A. Leet Letters (MSS.2020)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • This collection consists of six letters from Charles A. Leet, in Luxembourg, Germany, and Czechoslovakia, to his friend E. P. ("Ted") March in Grayville, Illinois. The letters span from January 1945 to July 1945, during World War II. In his first letter, he tells his friend, Ted, that he is no longer on the front lines; he is now a battery officer. In his last letter, he writes that he became the commander of a PW Camp with several thousand Germans.

R. E. McMurray Letter (MSS.2921)

  • Link goes to finding aid online

Wallace Reid letters [available online only]

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The Wallace Reid papers include letters, scrapbook pages, greeting cards, World War II souvenirs from Europe, photographs, and a handwritten memoirs. All of the materials document Reid's involvement in World War II. Almost all of the letters were written by Reid to his parents. Despite the fact that he often wrote these before, during, and after battles, Reid clearly tried to remain positive in his letters to prevent his parents from worrying about him. His memoirs addresses this and provides the more horrific details of his experience.

Bobby Vorel (in Vorel Family Letters, MSS.1984)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collections consists of 48 letters written to Joseph and Marie Vorel of Berwyn, Cook County, Illinois, by Joseph Jr., "Joie," and Robert "Bobby" Vorel, while they were both in the military during World War II.

William Jason Ashenfelter World War II artifacts and photographs (MSS.4007)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains William J. Ashenfelter's World War II memorabilia collected during his tour in Europe as part of the Thirty-first Photographic Reconnaissance Squadron (Nineteenth Tactical Air Command, Third Army). It includes a pair of leather gauntlets; two belts - one with coins wired onto it; a considerable number of Reichbanknotes and European coins; and a large number of photographs. Of the photographs, approximately forty are of concentration camps and were taken when the camps were liberated by the Allied forces. Most of these photographs have been laminated with have a typed caption and are very gruesome in nature. The rest of the photographs are primarily aerial shots of landmarks in France and Germany, pictures of bombed out buildings, and photographs of members of the squadron.

Robert Atkins (Nils and Flora Olson letters, MSS.3951)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collection contains mostly letters sent to Nils and Flora Olson from Robert Atkins. Atkins was in the Army Air Force during World War II. In the letters, he describes his daily life and later on he describes what he has seen while stationed in Italy.

Emmett Dendy World War II Air Mission Diary (MSS.3922)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized content online
  • The diary was used by Emmett Dendy, a gunner with the Eighth Air Force's 467th Bomb Group flying B-24s, to record his 22 air missions, from 24 February to 25 April 1945. Each entry includes information about the target, bomb load, bomb run, flak, time, gas, and altitude. He also included remarks concerning each mission. There is also a photograph of a group of men in front of a building; none of the men are identified by name, only by position (gunner, nose gunner, pilot, bombadier, etc.)

Glen Redden (in Redden-Lancaster family World War II letters, MSS.4163)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains letters from Private Lloyd D. (Don) and Sergeant Glen C. Redden, and Robert Lancaster to the Redden's sister and brother-in-law and Lancaster's brother and sister-in-law, Barbara and James Lancaster in Peekskill, New York. The letters illustrate the similar and differing experiences the men had during the war and depict a soldier's life from basic training to deployment. Glen Redden began writing his sister Barbara Lancaster while he was serving in the Army Air Corps. Originally stationed at the Jefferson Barracks in Missouri, he qualified as a weather observer and was sent to Maxwell Field in Montgomery, Alabama, to attend "Air Education and Training Command" classes. By 1943, he was stationed in Cambridge, England, with the Eighteenth Weather Squadron of the Air Corps.

Pvt. Will Bergstrom Letter (MSS.2071)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This is one letter, with the original envelope, from Private Will Bergstrom, a World War Two soldier, to his friend, Richard Young. In this letter, he mentions the bad dust storm and a lack of rain. Camp Kearny was notorious for its bad weather.

Vernon Keith Davisson Diary (MSS.1467)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection consists of one diary kept by Vernon Keith Davisson of West Manchester, Preble County, Ohio, while he was on the U.S.S. George A. Johnson during World War II. In the main, the diary relates the various ports of call of the U.S.S. George A. Johnson, DE-583, made in the Mediterranean Sea and the Pacific Ocean. The entry on February 20, 1945 describes a surprise attack during a broadcast from the States. The ship was hit by a torpedo that killed 46 and wounded 16. The following day he movingly describes the burial of 49 "buddies."

Joseph Vorel (in Vorel Family Letters, MSS.1984)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collections consists of 48 letters written to Joseph and Marie Vorel of Berwyn, Cook County, Illinois, by Joseph Jr., "Joie," and Robert "Bobby" Vorel, while they were both in the military during World War II.

Lt. Donald Balassa letter and photographs (MSS.2054)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • There is one letter from Lt. Donald Balassa, then stationed in Italy, to friends in the United States. He thanks them for the magazines they sent and complains that his experiences in the war are nothing like the propaganda produced for the home front. He also includes 3 photographs and includes descriptions on the reverse.

Donald Balassa (in Howard Robinson letters, MSS.2024)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection consists of letters to Professor Howard Robinson, Oberlin, Ohio, one from First Lieutenant Donald ("Don") Balassa, Corsica, during World War II. 

Leonard Beal (in Howard Robinson letters, MSS.2024)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection consists of letters to Professor Howard Robinson, Oberlin, Ohio, three from Corporal Leonard L. Beal, North Africa.

Jack S. Butler papers (MSS.2485)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains fifty-one letters written to and from Lt. Jack S. Butler and his wife, Maxine, in 1945, while he was stationed in Italy, and she was in Notasulga and Auburn, AL.

Joe Gilmore letter (MSS.1892)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • The collection contains one letter from Joe Gilmore to his sister L.L. Wooley in North Carolina. The letter was sent via V-mail. He lets her know that he and the boys are fine, tells her he does not enjoy Italy, and asks about a friend.

Private Robert L. Thompson Letters (MSS.2087)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • There are two letters (with matching envelopes) from Private Robert L. Thompson, stationed in Europe during World War Two, to his friend back in the United States. He discusses friends, the general situation in Europe, and New Year's Day.

Robert E. Turnbull Letter and Envelope (MSS.2093)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This is a letter from Robert E. Turnbull to a family member, probably his sister. He describes the weather in England and France, complains about the complicated currency, and comments on various friends and relatives.

Roy Willis Letter (MSS.2072)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This is one letter from Roy Willis, a World War Two soldier, to his wife back in the United States. He basically describes his day and states that he misses her and wishes he could see her again.
Loading ...

Serving Abroad - Asia and the Pacific

Sumner Danforth Davis letters (MSS.3916)

 

  • Link goes to digitized items online
  • Transcriptions of letters written home by Captain Sumner Danforth Davis, II, 0-359129, Medical Detachment, 306th Infantry Regiment, 77th (Liberty) Division, United States Army, covering operations of that Division in the Pacific theatre, from A. P. O. 77, San Francisco, California.

William W. Davis letters (MSS.2434)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • Contains 111 letters from Major William W. Davis of the United States Army Medical Corps 10th Evacuation Hospital to his wife, Mary Davis of Louisville, Kentucky, while he was stationed in New Guinea from 29 January 1943 through 19 September 1943.

John S. Doucet Postcard (MSS.1974)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collection consists of one pastcard from John S. Doucet of the 642nd Engineer Company (later the 642nd Camouflage Company) to his brother, Frank E. Doucet of Roxbury (Boston), Suffolk County, Massachusetts. In the postcard, written on February 13, 1945, he obliquely describes the action he has seen in the Philippines.

Jack Jolley (in Jolley Family Letters, MSS.1990)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • This collection consists of 12 letters written by Amy, William Jr., and Jack while William and Jack were in the Armed Services during World War II -- William with the 363rd Infantry, 91st Division in Italy and Jack with the 642nd Engineer Company in New Guinea. The bulk of the letters in this collection were written by Jack and describe the heat and the natives of New Guinea.

John H. Jones papers (MSS.4104)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains letters from John H. (Sonny, Bub) Jones to his parents, his girlfriend Jeffie McCoy, as well as letters from her to him, while he was in the U. S. Army during World War II. There is also a good sized collection of photographs, many of which were taken during his tour of duty in India and China during World War II.

Walter H. Kurtz Letter (MSS.1973)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collection consists of one letter written by Captain Walter H. Kurtz who served in the 186th Engineer Combat Battalion in the Philippine Islands in 1945. The letter was written on February 4, 1945 to Kurtz's uncle, Will C. Hensyl of Berwick, Pennsylvania. In the letter Kurtz describes the people of the Philippine Islands and the weather conditions.

R. E. McMurray Letters (MSS.1862)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • Collection contains letters from Lieutenant Colonel R.E. McMurray to his wife in Hobart, Indiana, during World War Two. The letters were sent from New York, Alabama, Italy, and Japan and discuss military life, the McMurray family, health, and religion.

Rolland Plattner Letters (MSS.3389)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • This collection contains 41 letters and two newsletters sent from Rolland Plattner to Harold Regnier while the former served a tour of duty in the Pacific during the last two years of World War II. Plattner's letters mainly discussed daily life in various Army camps in Hawaii, New Guinea, and the Philippines.

Robert Lancaster (in Redden-Lancaster family World War II letters, MSS.4163)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains letters from Private Lloyd D. (Don) and Sergeant Glen C. Redden, and Robert Lancaster to the Redden's sister and brother-in-law and Lancaster's brother and sister-in-law, Barbara and James Lancaster in Peekskill, New York. The letters illustrate the similar and differing experiences the men had during the war and depict a soldier's life from basic training to deployment. The smallest group of letters are from Lieutenant Robert C. Lancaster to his brother and sister-in-law, James and Barbara R. Lancaster. Lancaster joined the army in 1942 and received his basic training at Fort Belvoir, Virginia. He eventually entered officer training classes, becoming a 2nd Lieutenant by the end of the year. He was eventually sent to the Pacific with the Army Corps of Engineers.

Zane Zieman Letters (MSS.1996)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collection consists of three letters written by Corporal Zane Zieman of the 89th Field Artillery Battalion in the Philippine Islands during World War II, to his sister, Enid, and mother, Mrs. W. A. (Winnifred A.) Zieman of Midland, Haakon County, South Dakota. In the letters to his mother he tells her about having to wait to leave for Japan.

Everett B. Andrews letters (MSS.4170)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection is made up of letters written by Everett B. Andrews to his sister Lillian in St. Albans, Vermont, while he was stationed on the Island of Tinian in the Marianas in 1945. The letters describe camp life after Allied forces captured the island of Tinian in the Pacific Ocean, which was then used as an airfield due to its proximity to Japan.

George E. Haas Letter (MSS.1975)

  • This collection consists of one letter written from India by Lt. George Haas on April 2, 1945 to his cousin, Lt. Robert Haas of the 5th Air Force, 345th Bomb Group, 500th Squadron. In the letter, G. Haas states that he is the lead bombardier with eight missions completed. He also indicates that he also flew missions out of China and that he has almost five months of overseas duty. He asks R. Haas what type of plane he is flying.

Lloyd "Don" Redden (in Redden-Lancaster family World War II letters, MSS.4163)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains letters from Private Lloyd D. (Don) and Sergeant Glen C. Redden, and Robert Lancaster to the Redden's sister and brother-in-law and Lancaster's brother and sister-in-law, Barbara and James Lancaster in Peekskill, New York. The letters illustrate the similar and differing experiences the men had during the war and depict a soldier's life from basic training to deployment. The bulk of the letters, some 279, are from Lloyd D. Redden to his sister Barbara. Redden, who went by his middle name Don, enlisted in 1943, and was stationed at Jefferson Barracks for his basic training. He then attended classes with the Air Force in Minneapolis, Minnesota, for officer placement. However, Redden flunked the course and was sent to Lincoln, Nebraska. In early 1944, he attended the Army Air Forces Technical School at Chanute Air Force Base in Illinois. He was sent to Oahu, Hawaii, in 1944 and then spent most of 1945 in the Pacific Theater before being sent to Fort Dix, New Jersey, to receive his discharge.

H. K. Puckett Letter (MSS.2812)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • H. K. Puckett writes to Mr. Buckland about his experiences during World War II. He was stationed in the South Pacific with the USAFFE. The USAFFE took charge of planning and tactical control under the command of Major General MacArthur, Lieutenant General Richard K. Sutherland and Major General Richard J. Marshall.

Dodd Sellers papers and militaria (MSS.4159)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection consists primarily of the militaria of Dodd Sellers who was a Master Sergeant in the Marine Corps during World War II. Included are two spiral bound books written by Sellers; one is a narrative history of the Third Battalion, Tenth Marines, and the other is an autobiographical account of his tour of duty as a Marine in the Pacific Theater. There are also a small body of correspondence, a shadow box displaying his medals and insignia, and a silk covered pocket New Testament. In it Sellers listed the ships he was in, where they landed, the places he saw action, and the number of times he crossed the equator and international date line.

Vernon Keith Davisson Diary (MSS.1467)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection consists of one diary kept by Vernon Keith Davisson of West Manchester, Preble County, Ohio, while he was on the U.S.S. George A. Johnson during World War II. In the main, the diary relates the various ports of call of the U.S.S. George A. Johnson, DE-583, made in the Mediterranean Sea and the Pacific Ocean. The entry on February 20, 1945 describes a surprise attack during a broadcast from the States. The ship was hit by a torpedo that killed 46 and wounded 16. The following day he movingly describes the burial of 49 "buddies."

John Faulkner (in J.C. Faulkner Family Papers, MSS.2134)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • This collection contains correspondence between Tuscaloosa, Alabama, resident J.C. Faulkner and many of his family and friends over a span of about a year, between December 1944 and December 1945, while he served in the U.S. Navy at Camp San Bruno, California and Guam.

Albert J. "Ab" Haas, Jr., Letters  (MSS.1976)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This collection consists of fifteen letters written mainly between May 3 and November 17, 1945 (one was written on September 19, 1943) by Albert J. "Ab" Haas Jr., Carpenter's Mate 2nd class, Co. D. 8th Naval Construction Battalion. The letters are to his brother, Lt. Robert O. Haas of the 345th Bomb Group. In the letters Haas complains about the lack of liberty, the food and living conditions, and how he hopes that he, Robert and another brother, Pete, also in the armed services, all make it home okay. He tracks the number of missions his brothers have flown and tries to calculate how much longer it will be before they go home. 

Roger Hertz letters (MSS.4167)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection contains the almost daily letters written by Hertz and his family between 1944 and 1946 while he was serving in the U.S. Navy during World War II. The letters speak of his various duties including K.P. and guard duty. He also describes learning to identify enemy planes and ships, going to the movies, and mail call. One unusual aspect of this collection is that there are a significant number of letters to Hertz from family members written while he was still in the States doing his basic training. This is rare in most wartime letter collections and only possible because Hertz sent his families' letters home before he shipped out to the Pacific Theater.

Dewey and Almeda Stewart Papers (MSS.2158)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • Almost all of this collection is personal correspondence between Dewey and Almeda Stewart, a husband and wife separated by his service in the Navy during World War Two. The couple had only been married eight months when he departed for the Pacific Islands. Many of the letters had portions cut out by the war censor, which was officially lifted on September 4, 1945. Dewey' subsequent letters are significantly more personal and provide more details about the Navy, what he is doing, and where he is.

Letter from Larry to Mother (MSS.2183)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection consists of one letter written to mother from Larry discussing camp life in the jungles of New Guinea. He request she relay messages to several people and does not know when he will return home.

Freddie Lindsay Jr. Letters (MSS.2256)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • The collection contains V-mail letters to and from Lindsay, who was stationed in the South Pacific during World War II. Most of the letters are written to his sweetheart, Helene Phillips, in New Jersey, but there are a few letters from other friends. They discuss missing home, church services in the jungle, movies, and family.

Albert N. Verno letters (MSS.2026)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • This collection consists of eleven letters from Albert N. Verno, United States Army, to his friend, Robert (Bob) Haas, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, at Camp Croft and Lake Charles, Louisiana, from 11 December 1942 to 11 December 1944, during World War II. Verno does not state where he is because of the censorship regulations. He mentions that he has been around the islands, writes South Pacific on his last two letters, and was in Australia and Fiji.

Sgt. Owen R. Wagner Letter (MSS.2070)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This is a long letter from Sgt. Owen R. Wagner to his friend Lt. John J. Benson about the war. It covers friends and relatives killed in action, a desire for the war to end, and although he mentions peace, he distinctly singles out the Japanese as people he would not mind killing.

Robert K. Webb Letter (MSS.1967)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection consists of one letter written by S/Sgt. Robert K. Webb on May 20, 1945 to Mr. Howard Robinson of Oberlin, Ohio. In it, Webb describes cutting bamboo in the Philippines as well as a course in American government he will be teaching while there. He also talks about his future plans for graduate school.
Loading ...

Serving at Home

Thomas Atwood letters (MSS.3670)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection contains letters written by PFC Thomas Atwood to his parents, Mr. and Mrs. C.M. Atwood of Williamsburg, Ohio. The letters date from 1944-1945. In earlier letters PFC Thomas Atwood tells of his daily life in the Fifth Training Regiment, Fort Benning, Georgia. In later letters he writes about his recovery from a wound to the head while serving in Europe.

Charles M. Dragoo letters (MSS.4115)

  • Link goes to finding aid online

Wayne England Letters (MSS.2925)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • Twenty-four letters from Wayne England to his parents Mr. and Mrs. A. C. England of Jamestown, Indiana. Wayne was in the U.S. Army and wrote his parents about basic training, transfers, and asked for updates on friends and the family farm.

Cliff J. Granos letters (MSS.2025)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • This collection consists of eleven letters from Clifford J. ("Cliff") Granos, Boston, Massachusetts, and England during World War II, to his wife, Ruth Granos, Chicago, Illinois. The letters discuss, among other things, his sickness and Christmas.

Andrew William Johnson Jr. Papers (MSS.2356)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • The collection contains correspondence, photographs, a diary, books, stationery set, newspaper clippings, dog tags and other items of Andrew William Johnson Jr. of Louisville, Kentucky, during the 1940s while he was in the Army. There is a handmade memento booklet with poems and newspaper articles inserted, and both the diary and daybook have newspaper clippings inside.

Menial Horton Kiser letters and photograph (MSS.2034)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • This collection consists of six letters from Corporal Menial Horton Kiser, United States Army, during World War II, to his family. He writes a little about his duties, dating, needing them to send him cigarettes, family sickness, his marriage, and his father's death. He also writes to his brother, Jack, that he received a Bronze Star for the North Africa Campaign. There are seven photographs, all snapshots. Six of them are of Horton and/or his friends during the war. One of them is from the 1920s and depicts young Horton and his brother or cousin, Harve, with two dogs.

Maclin R. Milner Papers (MSS.2016)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection consists of letters to and from Maclin (Mac) R. Milner. Most were written while he was a cadet at the Chemical Warfare Service at Edgewood Arsenal, Maryland. Most of his outgoing letters are to his parents, Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Milner, of Indianapolis, Indiana. Many of his incoming letters are from his fiancee (later wife), Mary.

A. T. Patrick Letters (MSS.2136)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • The A. T. Patrick Letters consists of thirty-seven letters from S/Sgt. A. T. Patrick to Mary E. Coffman in Keyser, West Virginia. He was a radio operator in the Army stationed in Walla Walla, Washington; Redmond, Oregon; and Avon Park, Florida.

Lewis P. Schindler letters (MSS.2122)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • All letters are written to a Mr. Lanier Merritt of Nashville, Tennessee, a friend of Mr. Schindler. The letters discuss the landscape near Camp Cooke, California, including the Sierra Nevada and Catalina Island. He discusses daily exercises, playing music, and his travel from Camp Cooke, California to Clerical school in Toledo, Ohio. He discusses the possibility of returning home and what he misses. He is on special duty at Camp Bowie, in charge of a depot of weapons. Some letters are written on Army stationery.

Erwin R. Schulze Letter (MSS.2137)

  • Link goes to finding aid online

William B. Shirdan papers (MSS.1266)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • This collection contains letters to Shirdan's family in Montgomery, Alabama, written while he was serving in Europe during World War II. It also includes a letter from the War Department regarding his burial arrangements, a small number of mementos, and a letter from Milton, Shirdan's brother, to their mother.

R. W. Adams letter (MSS.3947)

  • Link goes to finding aid online

Robert N. Frelich Letter and Envelope (MSS.2086)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • This is a letter from Robert M. Frelich to his friends. He discusses life at Bergstrom Field. He also writes about friends of his and what they are currently doing and when he last saw them.

Oliver Jack Kaneft letters (MSS.0795)

  • See staff to access the collection
  • The collection contains letters from Kaneft to his girlfriend, Teddy Love, who later became his wife. Twelve of Kaneft's letters are sent from St. Louis, Missouri, and eighty-nine from Tuscaloosa, Alabama. The letters describe a range of emotions that Kaneft experienced as a pilot trainee and trainer. Each letter contains many endearments for Teddy. Some letters include information on the difficulties of finding alcohol during training in a dry county. Also included are some of Kaneft's feelings about flight training, and his joy at flying. 

Helen Becker Letters (MSS.1966)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • This collection consists of ten letters and one telegram written by Private, then Sergeant Helen Becker to Lieutenant Robert O. Haas between September 23, 1943 and June 29,1945. Becker was in the Marine Corps Women's Reserve (MCWR). In the letters Becker describes various duties (watch, mess, etc.) and activities (swimming, dancing, etc.).

Bill Aston Letters (MSS.2121)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • Five letters from Bill Aston to Martha Baird in Miami, Florida, all written on U.S. Naval Air Station stationery. He refers to her as "Citty." Discusses life in the barracks, getting into trade school, and food at the base. He moves bases on Friday, March 12, 1943. Envelope dated March 13 is forwarded and has a note on the back about ration coupons. Luxuries in "boot camp" included smoking and eating candy or gum.

G. J. Edwards letters (MSS.2250)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains letters from G.J. Edwards to his parents, Mr. and Mrs. G.J. Edwards, in Painesville, Ohio, beginning while he attended college at Miami University and continuing as he served in the U.S. Navy during World War II. He was stationed in California and Crafton, Pennsylvania.

Myer L. Feldman Letters (MSS.3687)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains many of the almost daily letters from Feldman to his wife, Ida, and baby daughter, Sally Ann, while he was in the United States Navy, stationed first at the Sampson Naval Training Base near Seneca, New York, and then aboard the U.S.S. LSM(R)-197 amphibious ship.

Harold E. Little letter (MSS.2040)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized item online

William A. Lyle letters (MSS.4164)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • Letters written by William A. Lyle from 1943 to 1946, primarily to his mother in New York City, while he was serving in the United States Naval Reserves at the U.S. Naval bases in Maryland, California, and Hawaii, during World War II.

F. W. Gleason Jr. Letters (MSS.2022)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • Includes eleven letters from Lieutenant F. W. (Wesley) Gleason Jr., U.S.C.G.R. (United States Coast Guard Reserve), aboard the USS Arthur Middleton, to his parents, Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Gleason, in New Orleans, Louisiana, during World War II.

Eva T. Tinnesz papers (MSS.4139)

  • Link goes to finding aid online
  • The collection contains the papers and memorabilia of Eva Tinnesz, in the Coast Guard Women's Reserve (SPARS) during World War II. Included are telegrams and postcards to and from her sister Katy (who was also in the Women's Reserves), her enlistment and discharge papers and certificates, diplomas, photographs, and other papers including a 1918 U. S. Department of Justice Registration Card of Alien Female for Louise Schaeffler. Her garrison cap and bucket hat are also part of the collection.
Loading ...