RefWorks

Full-text directions of how to install ProQuest RefWorks Write-N-Cite below. Screenshots with full-text directions attached as pdfs and docxes below. Some short video guides to come. 

1. Create a ProQuest RefWorks account. It’s free with your University of Alabama email account.

2. Login to ProQuest RefWorks.

3. In the upper-right hand corner, select your name.

4. From the drop-down menu, select tools.

5. Under “Cite in Microsoft Word,” download and install the correct version of Write-N-Cite for your version of Microsoft Word (please see RefWorks' explanation of how to learn which version of Microsoft Word you have; you will have to have Word open for this).  

6. Quit Word, download the extension, and run the installer.

7. Open Word. Once successfully installed, “RefWorks” should have appeared at the right end of the Microsoft Ribbon, which is located at the top of your Microsoft document. Select it.

8. You will need to login to RefWorks. Use the username and password you use to login to the web-based version.

9. Syncing your documents: At your first login, your saved documents will sync to Microsoft Word. You will need to manually sync your documents after you initial login.

Once you've successfully installed and logged in to ProQuest RefWorks Write-N-Cite, you'll be able to use it.

Full-text directions of how to use ProQuest RefWorks Write-N-Cite below. Screenshots with full-text directions attached as pdfs and docxes below. Some short video guides to come. 

How to add citations using ProQuest RefWorks Write-N-Cite

1. Click on the RefWorks tab in the upper left of the Microsoft Ribbon.
    
2. In the taskbar, select the citation style you want to use from the “style” dropdown menu. If you chose MLA now, and learn you need to be using APA or Chicago, you can change your citation style, and Write-N-Cite will change the citations and bibliography to match.
   
   Note: Please be aware that Write-N-Cite defaults to inline citations for Chicago, which uses either footnotes or endnotes (you can insert footnote citations, but inline citations are the default).
    
3. In the taskbar, click on “Insert Citation” and select “Insert New” from the dropdown menu. Once you’ve used a few citations, they will appear under  “insert citation.”
   
   Note: if using Chicago, the recently used citations will appear as inline citations unless added as footnotes via “Insert New.”
    
4. Within the “Insert/Edit Citation” window, you will need to select a folder. Within the online version of RefWorks, you can create folders and add resources to them, which makes it easier to find your resources within Write-N-Cite.  Always remember to sync your Write-N-Cite to your RefWorks after making changes.
    
5. Once you have selected your folder, you can scroll through your resources, which you can organize by Author, Date, or Title.
    
6. Select your resource, and then decide how you want it to display as a citation. You can remove various information, such as the author’s name or the date of publication, or you can “override pages” to cite a specific page from your article. This is the screen when you would select “make footnote” if you wanted a footnote.
    
7. Click “Okay” and wait for the citation to be added.
    
8. Changes can be made to the citations and the bibliography. Simply click within the citation/bibliography and add/change any information.
    
9. Like with any other citation management system, always check the citations and bibliography before submitting an assignment.

How to Sync Write-N-Cite to ProQuest RefWorks.

1. Click on the RefWorks tab in the upper left of the Microsoft Ribbon.
    
2. Click on “Sync my database.”
    
3. Write-N-Cite will sync to ProQuest RefWorks. Always remember to sync your Write-N-Cite to your RefWorks after making changes, such as importing more resources or adding resources to folders.

How to create a bibliography using Write-N-Cite

1. Click on the RefWorks tab in the upper left of the Microsoft Ribbon.
    
2. In the taskbar, select the citation style you want to use from the “style” dropdown menu. If you chose MLA now, and learn you need to be using APA or Chicago, you can change your citation style, and Write-N-Cite will change the citations and bibliography to match.
   
   Note: Please be aware that Write-N-Cite uses inline citations for Chicago, which uses either footnotes or endnotes (you can insert footnote citations, but inline citations are the default).
    
3. Once you have chosen a citation style for your paper, you can insert citations (please see How to add citations using ProQuest RefWorks Write-N-Cite for detailed instructions) or insert a bibliography.
    
4. Click on “Bibliography Options” and select “insert bibliography.”
    

5. Once you’ve added your bibliography, can you can select “remove bibliography” to remove your bibliography, or “format bibliography” to format your bibliography. 
    

6. Within the “Format Bibliography” screen is where you would make changes to your bibliography that differ from the default style, such as changing the sort order or adding numbers.
   
   Note: you must click on the lock icon in the lower left in order to “unlock the style” and make changes.