It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full-text of published histories and records of women’s reform organizations throughout the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries. It includes The History of Woman Suffrage; proceedings of the national conventions of female Anti-Slavery societies in the 1830s; proceedings of women’s rights conventions in the 1850s and 1860s; annual reports of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union; and local and national histories of the General Federation of Women’s Clubs.
This collection of primary resources documents international women’s social movements from the mid-nineteenth century to the present. Included are conference proceedings; reports of international women's organizations; publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organization; and letters, diaries, and memoirs.
The American National Biography Online provides information about prominent people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. It contains detailed articles, internal cross-references, robust bibliographies, thousands of photographs and illustrations, and links to external web resources.
The main search tool for UA Libraries, Scout allows you to search the library catalog and many of our databases all at once. Scout is a great place to start a broad search on a topic, but it's a good idea to search in targeted databases as well.
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
There are many more books in the library on this topic, but these two ebooks may be a good place to start!
Women in Medieval Europe 1200-1500 by Jennifer WardWomen in Medieval Europe explores the key areas of female experience in the later medieval period, from peasant women to Queens. The chapters are arranged thematically to show the varied roles and lives of women in and out of the home, covering topics such as marriage, religion, family and work.
Call Number: ebook
Women Have Always Worked by Alice Kessler-HarrisBeginning in the colonial era, Alice Kessler-Harris looks at the public and private work spheres of diverse groups of women--housewives and trade unionists, immigrants and African Americans, professionals and menial laborers, and women from across the class spectrum.