Using Images
On this page, you will find links to digital image collections. Like all resources that you include in your papers, presentations, and projects, digital images should be used responsibly. Although it is generally acceptable to reproduce images in your (unpublished) work for class, be sure to comply with the Terms and Conditions of Use provided by the databases or websites that you acquire the images from, and always cite your images, just as you would any other source.
For more information on how to cite images, see the Citation Help page.
Art and Architecture Image Collections
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of periodicals and books covering art and architecture. In addition, it offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications. The database also provides selective coverage for an Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others.
- China, America and the Pacific This link opens in a new window
The China, American and the Pacific collection offers archival material on the trading and cultural relationships between China, America, and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
Streaming Film Databases
- Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
Asian Film Online showcases independent Asian filmmakers' perspectives on Asian culture, curated by scholars and critics, covering themes like modernity, globalization, female agency, social unrest, and cultural identity
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand is a digital video streaming service providing access to educational videos from producers like A&E, P.B.S., National Geographic, and more. The Master Academic Collection includes videos across various fields of study, including health, humanities, science, business, and archival films.
- Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new windowKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from P.B.S., B.B.C., Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Music and Fine Arts Library Video Database
- Music and Fine Arts Library Video DatabaseTo find D.V.D.s and V.H.S. tapes, check out the library's video database, where you can search for videos by format, genre, and language.