Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Art and Art History e-book collection This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) and Keywords Visual Culture

These books explore 20th and 21st-century art history, incorporating diverse artists from women, LGBTQ, indigenous, Latin America, Africa, and Asia. They include photography, museum studies, and artist interviews, but lack exhibit catalogs.

Asian Life in America This link opens in a new window
New

Coverage of the Asian American experience sourced from American and global newspapers, including Asian American newspapers. Provides full-text searching as well as access to content by Topic, Event, and Eras in Asian American History.

Casalini Access Torrossa This link opens in a new window
New

Online access to academic books and journals published in various European countries and in varying languages, including Spanish, Catalan, Italian, and more.

Daily Observer Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
  • Open Access
New

Founded in 1981, the Daily Observer is Liberia's best-known, independent, national newspaper. The Daily Observer is notable for its coverage of the modern history of Liberia--including the Liberian Civil War and through its current phase of development"--home page (viewed January 10, 2024).

East African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New

Collection provides insight into this region during this critical time, from the 1940s to the early 2000s. Includes three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda). More titles will be added.

El Caribe Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
New

El Caribe ("The Caribbean") is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo, chronicles national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.

El Mundo Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
  • Open Access
New

"Founded in 1919, El Mundo was a respected, conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico and was widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990. The paper strived to live up to its slogan "Verdad y Justicia" (Truth and Justice)"--home page (viewed January 10, 2024).

Global Press Archives This link opens in a new window
New

Offers archives of a diverse range of predominantly non-Western newspaper titles, fully digitized and searchable for discoverability.

New
Alternate Name(s) and Keywords Disabilities in Society

The collection showcases historical treatment of disabled individuals through personal memoirs, records of treatments, education, remediation, and institutional discrimination, highlighting the struggles faced by these individuals.

Imperial Russian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
  • Open Access
New

Collection chronicles Russian history, comprises out-of-copyright newspapers, and includes two e-book editions (full-text searchable) of pertinent reference books: an in-depth bibliographic record of all known newspapers published in Imperial Russia and a unique collection of contemporaneous reference works.

  • Open Access
New

Comprising titles from Mexico's pre-independence, independence and revolutionary,periods (1807-1929), documentation of the events of this era and include politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.

Jewish Advocate Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
New

The Jewish Advocate serves as a primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life. Includes full-text and full-image issues.

  • Open Access
New

Collection provides perspective on critical period of China’s history, representing more than twenty cities, from the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. Provides researchers a comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People's Republic.

Latin American Studies e-book collection This link opens in a new window
New

These interdisciplinary titles are at the forefront of environmental studies, Latinx and Chicanx issues, decoloniality, environmental studies, and postcolonial theory. They also address music, art, film, television, and other aspects of popular culture.

Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New

Collection traces the history of Ukraine during this early period of independence, and the events leading up to the Orange Revolution (2004-2005). Includes local newspapers from each of Ukraine's 27 regions and provides insight into regional and ethnic interests, concerns, and conflicts that are still relevant today.

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New

Collection includes publications from across this region, providing insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.

Music and Sound Studies e-book collection This link opens in a new window
New

This collection pushes at the edges of how music is discussed. The ethnomusicology titles on this list find new links between music and culture, while the sound studies titles establish a new framework for theorizing the larger context of how we listen. Addressing musical cultures from around the world, these books consider music and sound broadly, taking into account social, cultural, physiological, and technological dimensions.

Native American Tribal Histories This link opens in a new window
New

Complete digitized collection of records from Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) superintendents, from 1813 to 1880. Recorded their interactions with Native American tribes, detailing encounters between Indigenous people and the U.S. government. Includes documents related to dozens of Native tribes from every region of the U.S. 

Nowy Dziennik Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
New

Nowy Dziennik (The New Daily) is the largest independent Polish-language newspaper in the United States, serving as a key source of information for the Polish émigré community. Its opinion-forming reporting covers current social, political, sports, cultural, and religious events.

NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) and Keywords New York Times, NYT

The New York Times is an American daily newspaper based in New York City. The New York Times covers domestic, national, and international news, and comprises opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews. As one of the longest-running newspapers in the United States, it serves as one of the country's newspapers of record.

Post-Perestroika Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New

These newspapers provide important and critical insight into the events and personalities that defined post-Soviet Russian politics and history.

Religious Studies e-book collection This link opens in a new window
New

Examines the role of religion in cultures around the world. Drawing on a range of interdisciplinary methodologies, these titles examine conflicts within and among religions, how religion shapes everyday life, and religion's social, cultural, and political dynamics. 

South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
  • Open Access
New

Collection chronicles the conflicts as well as contemporary perspectives on independence movements, early statehood, and the extensive economic and social growth taking place in the region. Coverage of events of the 19th and 20th centuries.

Southeast Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
  • Open Access
New

Collection chronicles the changes and challenges throughout the region during early statehood. Incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.

Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New

The Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers (SEUN) collection traces the history of Ukraine during its tumultuous era and events leading up to WWII. SEUN includes newspapers from three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv and includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian.

V Novom Svete This link opens in a new window
New

The most popular weekly newspaper among the fourth wave of immigrants from the former USSR, which began in the late 1980s. Aimed at previous generations of immigrants, V Novom Svete published interviews with contemporary political and cultural leaders of modern Russia, as well as pieces on the life of the Russian community in the U.S.

Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...