A-Z Databases

The African American, African, and Black Diaspora Studies e-book collection includes more than 490 titles that span the humanities and social sciences, covering history, religion, literature, art, music, anthropology, sociology, and other areas of study. Reflecting the global Black experience, titles explore regions including Africa, Europe, Asia, the Caribbean, and North and South America. The collection includes work by essential thinkers including C. Eric Lincoln, Deborah A. Thomas, Fred Moten, Houston A. Baker, Achille Mbembe, Jennifer Nash, Karla FC Holloway, and others.

Encompasses prose fiction from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I. Based on authoritative bibliographies including Lyle H. Wright's American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography, and Geoffrey D. Smith's American Fiction, 1901-1925: A Bibliography, comprising nearly three-quarters of all adult fiction published in the United States during this time period. These texts reveal much about the socioeconomic, political, and religious tenor of America through centuries of radical change.

The Anthropology e-book collection presents more than 680 titles in cultural anthropology, a discipline for which Duke University Press is especially well-known. Through traditional fieldwork and ethnography, cutting-edge theoretical approaches, and innovative reinventions of anthropological writing, the authors in this collection represent the best scholarship in the field. From analyses of the living history offered at Colonial Williamsburg to the complex interweavings of television and gender in postcolonial India, from Islam and political power in a village in Niger to the forms of performative public protest in Cochabamba, Bolivia, this collection shows the possibilities of anthropological research.

With over 400 titles, the Asian Studies e-book collection reflects Duke University Press's continued, interdisciplinary engagement with Asia. Moving beyond traditional area studies, the collection includes titles addressing individual Asian countries as well as regional and transnational issues. These books are theoretically rich, engaging with postcolonial theory, anthropology, gender studies, and cultural studies. In addition to histories steeped in new critical approaches, the collection includes important work on popular culture, music, film, and art. The collection exists in dialogue with Duke University Press's many Asian studies journals.

For more than 25 years, Duke University Press has sought to frame and reframe the fields of gender and sexuality studies, foregrounding underrepresented voices from around the world. The Gender Studies collection's over 740 titles include essential, discipline-defining works in gender studies, gay and lesbian studies, transgender studies, transnational women’s studies, and queer and feminist theory. These books take an intersectional approach to issues of gender, race, and sexual orientation, casting a critical eye on the ways these issues affect every aspect of society. Featuring some of the most significant thinkers in the field—Sara Ahmed, Lauren Berlant, Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick, Jack Halberstam, Imani Perry, and Alexis Pauline Gumbs—this collection is the backbone of any gender studies program.

A series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, steel, rail, and cotton industries, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It covers the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. In addition, the archive offers resources on the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. It features texts covering the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations. Collection includes:

Making of the Modern World: Part I, The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850
Making of the Modern World: Part II, 1851-1914 (Industrial Revolution)
Making of the Modern World: Part III, 1890-1945
Making of the Modern World: Part IV (Age of Capital, 1850s–1890)