Academic Search Premier contains full text and peer-reviewed publications. It also contains indexing and abstracts for news sources and refereed journals in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Indexes business journals worldwide; covers marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics and more. Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1886 to present. Updated daily.
CINAHL Complete provides authoritative coverage for thousands of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and dozens of allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. NOTE: Kanopy HBO titles require High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP). Please ensure you are using a device and monitor that support HDCP.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present. Offers full text for works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written before 1997. Contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations from 1980 forward and master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts.
Information source for scientific, medical, and technical research, and also includes social science and humanities topics. Contains articles on topics such as chemistry, mathematics, computer and materials science, and medicine, and links to journal titles and articles that have been accepted for publication but not yet in print. Users also have access to Medline, a web search engine, and information on available jobs for scientists.
Swank Motion Pictures provides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics. Studios represented by Swank’s services include: Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Brothers, Paramount, MGM, United Artists, New Line Cinema, Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, Lionsgate, Miramax, National Geographic, and more.
For the latest information on system requirements, CLICK HERE.
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) offers a wide range of interdisciplinary content. Also included: prominent journals and conference proceedings, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Collection of America's popular entertainment form sheds light on areas of study on daily life in the United States; politics, both local and national; culture in all of its forms; and the shifting and evolving tastes of Americans from across the country. Subjects covered by these works include women's movements, temperance, street life, westward expansion, slavery and abolition, immigration, wars and countless others. Also included here are hundreds of prompt books and manuscripts--annotated copies that help reveal the changing intentions of authors and the artistic views of directors. An opportunity to study the dramatic arts and the American past from diverse perspectives.
Offers custom research services to provide timely intelligence on the advertising industry, its creative work, and information on agencies and marketing communications companies worldwide. Showcases award winners, ads aired on TV during special events in browsable lists. Search tools organized according to the type of information (advertising firms, production companies & directors, creative work, and more). NOTE: AdForum can be accessed through Winmo.
In an 1883 decision known as the "The Civil Rights Cases" the U.S. Supreme Court invalidated the Civil Rights Act of 1875 and declared the federal government could not prevent discrimination on the basis of race. This ruling paved the way for the codification of Jim Crow laws which would provide a legal framework to reverse the hard-earned gains African- Americans had made during Reconstruction. This collection covers categories such as the growing body of work by African- American writers; the portrayal of African-Americans in art and literature; religion; race; early histories of slavery; the Civil War; Reconstruction; and others .It offers critical for insight into African-American culture and life from the beginning of Jim Crow to World War I and beyond. Capturing voices of, by, for, and about African Americans, this digital resource covers such critically important subjects as the evolution of African-American identity; eyewitness accounts of African-American life throughout the United States; relationships between African Americans and peoples of other nations; race in literature; and official reports on the changing status of African Americans.
Searchable printed works essential for understanding the African-American struggle for identity from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow. This resource includes categories such as Reconstruction by state; works by African-American writers on race, slavery, and civil rights; the portrayal of African Americans in the Arts; and early histories of the Civil War and slavery. Covers such critically important subjects as the development of African-American identity; descriptions of African- American life-- both slave and free; slavery and race; eyewitness accounts of African-American life in the South, the North, and elsewhere; and official reports on the "progress" of African Americans.
Covers the history of Africa and its diverse people over nearly 400 years, covering all areas of Africa and important adjacent regions. Contains more than 1,300 books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera compiled by the curators of the extraordinary Afro-Americana Imprints collection.
Searchable collection of the Library Company's Afro-Americana Collection. Subjects include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought, including political protest and resistance to racism; descriptions of African American life -- slave and free -- throughout the Americans; and slavery and race in fiction and drama. Includes books, pamphlets and broadsides presenting a record of African American history, literature, and culture.
Featuring published works between 1860 and 1922, this fully searchable collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more. Coverage extends throughout the Civil War and well beyond into the critical postwar period.
This collection offers insight into the society, economy and morality of early America. It paints a picture of wealthy official and clergy who controlled the developing nation, but of the women, indentured servants, enslaved Africans and Native American who lived under that control.
Although early American culture was dominated by religion, early American researchers were engaged in scientific inquiry through experiments, inventions, and explorations which helped shape American history in a number of ways. Publications documenting this pioneering research was vital to the advancements in scientific research and technology. That along with public interest fueled extensive published records ranging from physics, mathematics, chemistry, biology, geography, geology, astronomy and many other are detailed here. Spans nearly 200 years.
In the 17th, 18th, and early 19th centuries, ministers and preachers delivered powerful weekly sermons that were often printed and distributed across colonies and towns of early America. In many communities, these sermons were the cornerstone of civic and political discourse, and played a pivotal role in shaping the culture, morals. More than 8,000 sermons printed between 1652 and 1819 are available in two series (1652-1795 and 1796-1819). Topics from local gossip to slavery to witchcraft offer intriguing research opportunities for not only religious scholars and historians, but anyone interested in the daily life, politics, society, child-rearing and educational systems of early America. They provide contemporary cultural commentary on a range of important historical events, from the American Revolution to the abolition movement to immigration debates.
Digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society’s holdings of slavery and abolition materials. Contains more than 3,500 works published over the course of more than 100 years. Includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera, including a large number of Southern imprints.
Offers fully catalogued and searchable works by and about black authors from the Americas, Europe and Africa. Major subject areas include Literature, Ethnic History, Colonialism, Gender Studies, Slavery, and Diaspora Studies. Includes personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems, and musical compositions.
S&P Capital IQ provides detailed research and analysis of the stock market to a variety of investing stakeholders.
Instructions for end users:
New Users: You may register for a Capital IQ account by clicking on the link above and selecting "New User?" in the top right-hand corner. You will receive an e-mail asking you to confirm your account and set your password. You must use your university e-mail to register.
Existing users: Use the link above for both on-campus and off-campus access. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to log in through myBama first and then prompted to log in with your Capital IQ credentials.
Covers the diverse history of Caribbean islands over nearly 400 years. Includes fully searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides, and ephemera. Major subject areas covered include Atlantic Studies, Diaspora Studies, Economic Studies, History of Medicine, Ethnicity and Gender Studies, Latin America and Slavery.
John L. LeFlore (1903–1976) was the most significant figure in the struggle for black equality in Mobile, Alabama, throughout southern Alabama and Mississippi, and along the Florida Gulf Coast. Materials in the collection document LeFlore's prolific work in both public and private life. LeFlore was the first African American appointed to the Housing Board and, with J. Gary Cooper, was the first African American elected to the state legislature from Mobile since Reconstruction. The Non-Partisan Voters League was organized in Mobile, Alabama. The exact date of its origin is unknown but it is believed to be before 1956, the year the attorney general of the state of Alabama and the state court system forced the NAACP to cease all operations in the state. The bulk of the materials date between 1961 and 1975.
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement. Published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society.
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other scarce printed material. Most of these supplemental works were missed by Shaw and Shoemaker, marking them among the rarest printed documents of this formative era. Centuries of American history, literature, culture and daily life.
This full-text database is a resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, videos, and primary source documents.
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations, meeting a need for historical researchers. Indigenous Peoples of North America provides a robust, diverse, and appealing search experience and enable intelligent inquiry into the culture and heritage of indigenous people. It is sourced from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.
Lean Library is a browser extension that works with The University of Alabama Libraries' systems to give you seamless access when working away from the University of Alabama campus. Once downloaded, you’ll be alerted via a pop-up message if you are looking for something that University Libraries can give you access to, including articles, eBooks, and other subscriptions. Lean Library also directs you to an open access version of what you are looking for if it exists elsewhere or to interlibrary loan if it's not in our collection.
The Literary Encyclopedia is an original literary reference work, written by specialists from universities around the world. It provides over 3200 authoritative profiles, usually around 2500 words in length, of authors, works and topics written by over 1200 experts.
Every major book about Native Peoples from this period is included, along with treaties, transcribed letters from Native American leaders, the minutes of tribal meetings, histories of numerous tribes, missionary reports, captivity narratives, firsthand accounts of battles, trading records, military rosters, expedition logs and maps, trial records, legislative bills, books on Native American languages and grammar, military rosters, governors' and legislators' reports, ballads, songs, plays and more. Offers text and data analysis tools, author biographies, and suggested search paths for easy browsing and discovery.
This collection of documents offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. It details the way in which the theatre was constructed as a place of radical experiment. It documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programmes, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
State Papers Online is a collection of historical materials on early modern Britain & Europe across a wide range of government concerns. It includes correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants, and provincial administrators from 1509-1782. It includes the following:
Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany
Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 3: State Papers Foreign, Western Europe
The Women's Studies Archive documents the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives, offering resources pertaining to the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. The database is in four parts: Issues and Identities; Voice and Vision; Rare Titles from the American Antiquarian Society, 1820-1922; Female Forerunners Worldwide.