Academic Search Premier contains full text and peer-reviewed publications. It also contains indexing and abstracts for news sources and refereed journals in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Indexes business journals worldwide; covers marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics and more. Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1886 to present. Updated daily.
CINAHL Complete provides authoritative coverage for thousands of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and dozens of allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. NOTE: Kanopy HBO titles require High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP). Please ensure you are using a device and monitor that support HDCP.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present. Offers full text for works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written before 1997. Contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations from 1980 forward and master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts.
Information source for scientific, medical, and technical research, and also includes social science and humanities topics. Contains articles on topics such as chemistry, mathematics, computer and materials science, and medicine, and links to journal titles and articles that have been accepted for publication but not yet in print. Users also have access to Medline, a web search engine, and information on available jobs for scientists.
Swank Motion Pictures provides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics. Studios represented by Swank’s services include: Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Brothers, Paramount, MGM, United Artists, New Line Cinema, Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, Lionsgate, Miramax, National Geographic, and more.
For the latest information on system requirements, CLICK HERE.
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) offers a wide range of interdisciplinary content. Also included: prominent journals and conference proceedings, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Offers custom research services to provide timely intelligence on the advertising industry, its creative work, and information on agencies and marketing communications companies worldwide. Showcases award winners, ads aired on TV during special events in browsable lists. Search tools organized according to the type of information (advertising firms, production companies & directors, creative work, and more). NOTE: AdForum can be accessed through Winmo.
S&P Capital IQ provides detailed research and analysis of the stock market to a variety of investing stakeholders.
Instructions for end users:
New users can use this Registration Link to create their individual profile. Select "New User" in the top right-hand corner. Once the user provides a UA e-mail address, they will be directed to continue account setup and provide First and Last Name to complete their registration.
After successful registration, users can go to https://www.capitaliq.com and enter their registered email address to be authenticated and view content.
John L. LeFlore (1903–1976) was the most significant figure in the struggle for black equality in Mobile, Alabama, throughout southern Alabama and Mississippi, and along the Florida Gulf Coast. Materials in the collection document LeFlore's prolific work in both public and private life. LeFlore was the first African American appointed to the Housing Board and, with J. Gary Cooper, was the first African American elected to the state legislature from Mobile since Reconstruction. The Non-Partisan Voters League was organized in Mobile, Alabama. The exact date of its origin is unknown but it is believed to be before 1956, the year the attorney general of the state of Alabama and the state court system forced the NAACP to cease all operations in the state. The bulk of the materials date between 1961 and 1975.
Lean Library is a browser extension that works with The University of Alabama Libraries' systems to give you seamless access when working away from the University of Alabama campus. Once downloaded, you’ll be alerted via a pop-up message if you are looking for something that University Libraries can give you access to, including articles, eBooks, and other subscriptions. Lean Library also directs you to an open access version of what you are looking for if it exists elsewhere or to interlibrary loan if it's not in our collection.
The Literary Encyclopedia is an original literary reference work, written by specialists from universities around the world. It provides over 3200 authoritative profiles, usually around 2500 words in length, of authors, works and topics written by over 1200 experts.
MIT Press Direct offers a collection of ebooks on a wide variety of subject areas including art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
UA does not subscribe to all titles for this publisher. Please contact a librarian to request access to unsubscribed titles.
CAS SciFinder-n (SFn), the new version of SciFinder, provides access to: Chemical Abstracts (articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, and more; 1907-present); the Registry Database (registry numbers and names of chemical substances; 1957-present); and the CASREACT database (reaction searching; 1985-present). Also included is access to CHEMCATS (commercial sources for purchasing chemicals), CHEMLIST (regulated chemical information), and the SciFinder PatentPak plugin. PatentPak provides access to full text patents and indexed substance information within the patent.
Special login Instructions: If you are a first-time user you must create an account HERE. Note: In your contact information, your name (First Name; Last Name) should be the same as those in your University registration. Your email should be your Crimson or Bama email account. Instructions for SciFinder-n registration are HERE. If you are already a registered user of SciFinder-n Web, click here to login. Existing users' Scifinder username and password can be used on the new Scifinder-n.
This collection of documents offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. It details the way in which the theatre was constructed as a place of radical experiment. It documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programmes, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.