Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Numerous printed works, including books for entertainment, instruction, education, devotion, and play. More than 6,400 works for children, 1654-1819.

Access requires on-campus authentication.
New
Digital Scholar Lab is an online tool for collecting data sets comprised of content from UA's Gale Primary Sources subscriptions. Those data sets can then be analyzed using text analysis and visualization tools built into the Digital Scholar Lab. Digital humanities analysis methods include: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Parts of Speech, and more.

Users must create an account to save their work. On the Gale page, select "Sign in with Microsoft" or "Sign in with Google" to create a new account or access your account and saved work.
New
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations, meeting a need for historical researchers. Indigenous Peoples of North America provides a robust, diverse, and appealing search experience and enable intelligent inquiry into the culture and heritage of indigenous people. It is sourced from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.
New
Lean Library is a browser extension that works with The University of Alabama Libraries' systems to give you seamless access when working away from the University of Alabama campus. Once downloaded, you’ll be alerted via a pop-up message if you are looking for something that University Libraries can give you access to, including articles, eBooks, and other subscriptions. Lean Library also directs you to an open access version of what you are looking for if it exists elsewhere or to interlibrary loan if it's not in our collection.
New
The Literary Encyclopedia is an original literary reference work, written by specialists from universities around the world. It provides over 3200 authoritative profiles, usually around 2500 words in length, of authors, works and topics written by over 1200 experts.
New
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to streaming video of productions and archival material offering insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Trial
SAGE Business Cases is a digital collection which includes a wide range of cases from some of the world’s most prestigious universities, journals, and societies, allow readers access to global perspectives and vetted expertise in areas including sports management to public policy, that support their curriculum and independent research.

This trial will expire on December 31, 2022.
Trial
Streaming video collections are developed with leading academics, societies, and practitioners, to deliver cutting-edge pedagogical and research-oriented video within such as human resources, small business management, negotiations, marketing, entrepreneurship, etc.

This trial will expire on December 31, 2022.
Trial
Streaming video collections are developed with leading academics, societies, and practitioners, to deliver cutting-edge pedagogical and research-oriented video within leadership such as instruction, pedagogy, teaching, ethics, philosophy and more.

This trial will expire on December 31, 2022.
New
The SPIE Digital Library is an extensive resource on optics and photonics, and provides access to technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings.
New
State Papers Online is a collection of historical materials on early modern Britain & Europe across a wide range of government concerns. It includes correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants, and provincial administrators from 1509-1782. It includes the following:

Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic
Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany
Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 3: State Papers Foreign, Western Europe
New
The Women's Studies Archive documents the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives, offering resources pertaining to the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. The database is in four parts: Issues and Identities; Voice and Vision; Rare Titles from the American Antiquarian Society, 1820-1922; Female Forerunners Worldwide.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...