Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bama Bug Fest: On the Web is crawling your way in July 2020! This virtual, all-things-bug event has a little something for all ages and will take place every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday from July 7 to July 25. Though we are social distancing this year, we’re not missing out on any of the bug fun! Take part in interactive video elements; watch interviews with experts; learn how to draw insect characters; join in bug-themed storytelling, and much, much more. Brought to you live each week by the great folks at the Alabama Museum of Natural History, Mildred Westervelt Warner Transportation Museum, Discovering Alabama, and Tuscaloosa Public Library.
Rodgers Library for Science and Engineering is excited to join in the socially distanced fun! Didn't get enough of of those awesome spiders, honeybees, moths, and more? Check out these great research resources, podcasts, and videos for each week's activities!
Details of the Unseen: The Hidden Secrets of Bugs Exhibit (Online!)
Details Unseen: The Hidden Secrets of Bugs is the Mildred Westervelt Warner Transportation Museum’s summer virtual exhibit. This exhibition is a collaboration between the Blount Scholars Nature Photography Course and the Mildred Westervelt Warner Transportation Museum. The course gave students the techniques and skills needed to use a digital camera for photographing everything from insects to elephants. By the end of the semester, the students were able to create publishable quality photographs for use in biological research or in their own creative/artistic applications. The photographs featured in this exhibit are the final submissions from this class. Students used insect specimens from the UA Museums Collections to capture unfamiliar images of these familiar subjects. The submissions were then curated for this exhibit by the Mildred Westervelt Warner Transportation Museum and presented virtually for this collaboration.
Details Unseen: The Hidden Secrets of Bugs is a part of the Bama Bug Fest: On the Web event which happens virtually from July 7th through July 25th.
Bama Bug Fest 2020
Watch the live streams of weekly events from any of these locations:
Bug Friendly Resources in the Tuscaloosa Community
Free Learning Resources for Alabama Families
Alabama Virtual Library (AVL)
The Alabama Virtual Library, primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal and newspaper articles for research, provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources.
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
Presented by the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History, Marine Biological Laboratory, and the New Library of Alexandria, The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is a free, online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science. It is compiled from existing databases and from contributions by experts and non-experts throughout the world.
What should I search for?
Looking for great resources on specific bugs? Try searching the encyclopedias and databases in this guide with their common and scientific names, including the ones listed in Encyclopedia Britannica's List of Insects and List of Arachnids.
Research Resources from UA Libraries
Bug Fest Art Contest (Enter Here!)
Bug Fest 2020 Art Contest Entry Form
Bama Bug Fest is reaching out to everyone young and old to participate in an art contest! We will be accepting pictures of your original artwork featuring your favorite bugs/insects that you've seen out in the wild! Open to all ages!
Research and Instructional Services Librarian