Print Books
Looking for a book on the shelves? Search through Scout or directly through the libraries' catalog to browse print holdings.
Each record of a book will have a call number that corresponds to the book's location in Gorgas, McLure, Rodgers, Bruno, Hoole, or the Archival Facility.
- Scout This link opens in a new window
The University of Alabama's discovery service, searching content from hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our library catalog, ebooks, videos, news and more.
- Libraries' CatalogThe catalog is a record of the University Libraries' holdings: print and electronic books, films, sound recordings, musical scores, government documents, and more (no articles). Most useful for simple author/title searches or highly focused searches. Use the Advanced Search page for complex searching, combining keywords or subject headings.
- WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages.
- ILLInterlibrary Loan (ILL) provides free access to materials needed for coursework and research not available in the UA Libraries. If an item is not available at the University of Alabama libraries, you may request it through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan system. Visit the libraries' ILLiad page and login with your myBama username and password to make a request.
This video demonstrates how to use our Interlibrary Loan service when you need a book that is not in our collection, or an article from a journal we don't subscribe to.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that offers rare scholarly resources, including foreign government documents, doctoral dissertations, textbooks, and scientific research materials, as well as six area studies microfilming projects.
E-Books
The library provides access to thousands of electronic books in every discipline and subject area. There are multiple ways to view and e-book. You can access e-books via PDF or e-pub format in your web browser. Or you can check them out by downloading them to your computer or mobile device for offline access.
You can also view e-books through various content providers below.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
- eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly ebooks from leading publishers in various subject areas.
- JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
Books on the JSTOR platform. JSTOR provides images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, statistics, and scholarship in the Spanish language. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly ebooks from leading publishers in various subject areas.
Need a refresher on how to access and download e-books on your device? Watch the following tutorial on how to "check out" e-books using Adobe Digital Editions.