Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Studies

Resources to support Religious Studies at the University of Alabama

Books

Finding Print Books

Browsing Print Books

If you wish to browse the print collection, you will find books that are primarily about religion under the B call number range, which is found on the lower level in Gorgas Library. The primary call numbers are BL through BX. For a more detailed outline of the B range in Library of Congress Classification (which is what we use), look through the PDF here: Library of Congress Classification Outline - Class B.

If you would like help finding the B call number range in the basement, please don't hesitate to ask! I'm always happy to walk someone downstairs to the basement stacks, and you can inquire at the information desk as well.

 

The Carmichael Collection

The Carmichael Collection is a print collection supported by the Daniel Monroe and Amanda Delight Lessley Carmichael Memorial Endowed Fund. The collection consists of books about religion and philosophy, interpreted broadly. These titles are hand selected by librarians and library administration. The collection may be browsed in the study area behind Java City, between the two main stairwells of Gorgas Library. When titles leave the collection (every few years), they are added to the regular circulating collection.