Academic Journal Articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowImages of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides historical and cultural coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from journals published worldwide.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new windowThis database provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. As well as providing details of publications, the Bibliography provides links to online catalogues pointing to items listed in research libraries in Britain, Ireland and the USA.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE is a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE draws on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations & Theses can be used as secondary sources and in some cases it may be easier to find a dissertation or thesis that addresses your specific topic.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present. Offers full text for works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written before 1997. Contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations from 1980 forward and master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts. - EThOS (E-Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new windowIndexes theses written in participating colleges and universities the United Kingdom. Some of the full-texts are free; others are available for a fee.