The History of Capitalism

Brings together a vast amount of information published by and about the United States Congress. It provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including: Congressional documents and related resources as well as a number of publications such as the Congressional Record, United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal.

Legislative Insight contains legislative histories and links to the related full-text Congressional documents since 1929. Contains the public-law, all versions of the related bills, specific Congressional Records excerpts and committee hearings, reports and prints. Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous publications that provide background information related to the making of the law are also included.

The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a division of the Library of Congress, provides non-partisan, analytical research and reference service to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover a variety of public policy topics, including agriculture, the environment, foreign relations, military expenditures and conflicts, as well as the workings of the U.S. government.

Hein Online provides access to the full-text of legal periodical articles, Supreme Court opinions, U.S. Attorney General opinions, treaties and international agreements, and the Federal Register. Documents are available as photocopy-equivalent PDF files.

Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience, with news, legal and business sources, including: print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with archives; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.

“The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) contains documents from the U.K. Houses of Parliament which include sessional papers, command papers, bills, reports and accounts from the 18th to the 21st century. HCPP also includes the full-text searchable Hansard, the verbatim record of parliamentary debates. While in itself HCPP provides sources on the history of governance and administration of the UK and its colonies, it is also a key source for historians working on political, social, economic, legal & constitutional, military, diplomatic, cultural and religious history of the UK. It is also very useful for finding statistical reports and annual account, whether they relate to transport, supporting the arts, or trade.”

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of social, political and economic statistics. The focus is on national data, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. It is divided into broad sections such as Population, Health and Nutrition, Education, Foreign Commerce and Aid, Prices and many others. Each table identifies the source of the data. Tables can be downloaded in .xls or .pdf format.

This reference work includes data on topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Fully searchable, this resource permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

Collection of statistical resources from the Census Bureau databases. Databases include: census tract street locator, international trade data, building permits, zip code business patterns, financial data for state and local schools and governments, USA counties, occupation data by race, Hispanic origin, and sex, annual survey of manufactures, and more.